You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemits' ranking system being destroyed?

in #steemit6 years ago

As someone who has been writing here for nearly 6 months, I can DEFINITELY relate. I have been busting my ass and really honestly putting full time hours into not only writing posts every day, but also interacting, networking and making friends.

Sure, it's not ALL about the money. Hell, I've blogged for nothing for a long time... but at the same time, come ON. The potential to make this a paying job is one of the HUGE selling points. I DON'T want to do it by playing some game of bidbots and seeing how fast I can leap frog over everyone else.

I am proud of my writing talent and I am proud of the work I put into this every day. I was so stoked to think that I might be able to actually make an income doing something that I love and that I'm good at... and yet watched as people writing cut and paste/one photo/shit posts jumped higher and higher while I'm slogging away.

I'm not saying I"m the best writer out there, or that I'm doing everything right, but damn, I'm pouring myself into this for little return. I've gotten the curie votes often and I am ALWAYS thrilled beyond belief, but it is still disheartening to see people making $100 on every post while I'm thrilled to see more than $1. on most posts.

You make some GREAT points and I wish I understood the whole blockchain thing more and if there was any hope whatsoever.

My husband was writing on here for a while @serapium but he has since had to go back to work outside the house and just doesn't have the time anymore. He wrote a post How Steemit Becomes Irrelevant and Dies - A Newcomer's Perspective on Why STEEM is Today's MySpace that is older, but you might find it interesting.

I love his writing, it is SO vastly different from my own. I hope he is able to start writing again.

I'm really loving your blog and can relate to so many things. Keep on keeping on!

Also, there is a new social media thing coming up called Ono that is supposed to have some significant changes. I still need to check it out more myself, but you might be interested.

Sort:  

The struggle is real here on steemit for those of us who really want it to be more than a game :/ I will definitely read that article your husband wrote, I don't mind that it isnt recent, I like reading good material.

Thanks for all the kind words and being so supportive! Its nice to hear about other peoples stories that can relate to my life. Also, people from the midwest tend to be the nicest and most honest group of people I have met. I definitely feel a connection between us with our similar stories and life trials, so I am happy we found each other here on steemit. I will try to be more supportive of your work in the future :) For now I am just gonna keep on keepin on with steemit and see where it takes me ;)

I will consider looking into Ono, but I don't know if I have the energy to start all over on another social media platform. I am just trying to save up steem right now because I think the steem network is going to go to the moon, although I am not to sure how far steemit itself will go.

Don't forget, they're not really earning $100/ post, most of that goes to the people who delegate steem to the bid-bots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54266.19
ETH 2288.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31