Friday Favorites! My picks for people to read this week

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

cover-2.png

Artwork by @loliboofae (aka Paris)

Here are my Friday Favorites this week! If you’re at all interested in finding new people to read or follow, because community is SO amazing here on steemit, here are some people I recommend checking out!

It’s no secret that I love my freewriting community. It’s what got me started on this platform. This week I’m starting with just a few of the freewrites that caught my attention this week.

First my favorite freewrites of this week!

FF2-brai.png

A wonderful freewrite poem by @rhei86 that manages to capture so much in just a few words. Definitely worth a read and deserving of some attention!
Day 111: Freewrite, Dream

FF2-cybrast.png

Another 5 Minute Freewrite from @cbrayst this week:

FF2-bleedinheart.png

Here is one by @bleedinheart, this one is a poem about dreams. Really nice and worth a read!

FF2-dennies.png

One last freewrite! This one takes us into a glimpse of what is a great sci-fi story getting started! Maybe it will continue someday, but this is a GREAT short story!
Who is in There?

Onward to a different type of post:

@tyrex

FF2-tyrex.png

Visit @tyrex and see if you can’t help him out with a little support or an upvote for his project.
ONE MEAL A DAY CAMPAIGN: VISITING THE ORPHANAGE HOMES

@hickorymack

ff2-homeless.png

The Fall Into Homelessness
This is one woman’s story of becoming homeless. I know a lot of people have a knee jerk reaction to the homeless that isn’t favorable, but I urge you to give this a read, if only to see that sometimes things happen that leave us one step away from homelessness… maybe not YOU, but someone you love could find themselves in a situation like this. I think that this story needs to be heard, for many reasons.

I haven’t really been homeless. I’ve lived in my car for a while when I was young and single, and we lost our house and our belongings when our kids were little due to black mold. I read this post and could relate. We lived on a 40 ft. converted bus with our five kids for almost three years and I lived the the constant underlying fear that someone would report us... because I know that once CPS gets a fire under them over something like this, it is just impossible to fight. Reading this story gave me goosebumps just remembering what it felt like to worry that someone would report us for living on a bus with five kids.

I feel SO much for them, because it was insane for them to be kicked from a nice warm, safe home simply because it is outside of the "Norm" It really frustrates me in a HUGE way. Thanks to steemit, even those of us who can’t afford to do much can show even a little support with upvotes! Please go check out this post and follow her journey.

@denmarkguy

FF-2-denmark.png
Charity, Compassion, Homelessness, The Super Bowl and Our Humanity

This guy has his head on straight and his heart in the right place. He talks about the post I linked above as well as other topics in this post, but I encourage you to follow him for regular updates. I know he doesn’t really need my lowly support, but I still think that quality content deserves to be encouraged… and this, in my opinion, is quality content. I got distracted reading several things on his blog, even though I should have been working on other things!

@geekpowered

FF2-geekpowered.png

My Vacation on the Exotic Shores on the Edge of a Black Hole is a story that I discovered this week whilst poking around for new people to follow and read. To be totally honest, I tend to avoid sci-fi in general. Even with good writers, I often just get lost in the whole genre. I don’t speak “Sci-Fi” very well and I’m not even well versed in all of the Sci-Fi movies and such that my kids and husband love. STILL, this story caught my attention because the writer did such a great job of capturing the character, the… FEEL of the piece. I was really impressed and added it to my list here, because the story has popped back into my brain several times this week!

@abyni

FF-2-abyni.png

And I’m going to wrap this up with one last suggestion… @abyni just uploaded a new video yesterday of her live performance of Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” on the Ukulele. It sounds like a crazy idea (at least it did to me) but it sounds FANTASTIC.

bad-romance-cver-350.png

She actually got her first paying gig in the US and it is this weekend, so I’m thinking I’m going to get lots of video and she’ll have tons of music to choose from to upload a lot more often! She has a wonderful voice and is completely self taught on the ukulele, guitar and now the piano as well.

Yes, she’s my youngest child, but she is truly talented and I have watched her pour her heart and soul into her music, so IF you enjoy listening to music, give her a follow and check out her dtube over the upcoming week! <3

That’s all from me! I’m keeping my 1 ½ year old and almost 4 year old grandson’s all weekend (the baby’s first time away from mom overnight!) so I will probably just be posting the things I’ve written this past week and won’t be terribly active over the next few days… but I’ll catch up with you all on Monday!

As always, thank you all SO much for your support!

The comments really make my day and help me feel connected to you guys. I really can’t imagine what I’d do without this whole new steemit family! I’m addicted to you all already!

If you have an awesome "How We Met" Story, DON'T FORGET to Enter our CONTEST!

contest-350.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the shoutout!

Glad you enjoyed the story, and hope you continue to read.

Absolutely! I'm following you so I hope to see more from you in the future :)

I am very grateful @byn, you left me speechless for this act of love shown to me and I would forever be indebted to you. Seeing this, my jaw dropped because words alone won't be able to explain how I am feeling as I am typing this right now but all the same, I am still grateful. May God bless more than ever.

You're most welcome! I love your heart and how much you care about helping others! I wish I had the ability to do more.

@byn

All you have done is enough and would go a mile than you less expected, thank you once again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89