In My Upcoming Top 20 Cryptocurrency Gallery, I Both Praised and Blasted Steemit 😐

in #steemit6 years ago

Just a few hours ago, I submitted my Top 20 Cryptocurrency Assets list to InvestorPlace.com. Of course, I mentioned Steemit / STEEM on my write-up.

However, I did not go into a slobbering love affair with STEEM, as some of you might have hoped. Sure, the platform has performed exceptionally well for me, all things considered. But the existence of positive attributes does not mean that negatives don't exist.

In fact, we have several that newcomers to Steemit probably do not appreciate. But before I get into that, let's break down the pros and cons of joining Steemit (no, this is NOT comprehensive, so please...if there are any "you forgot to include" trolls out there, this is NOT comprehensive).

Pros of Joining Steemit

  • Free -- that's the major reason why people join Steemit, am I right? :)
  • Earn money -- and not only that, STEEM is fungible within the cryptocurrency economy, so you can participate "risk free."
  • Relatively few "asshole-trolls," almost no racists -- although I will caveat by saying there seems to be a higher percentage of liberal cucks, but that's a different story for a different day.

Cons of Joining Steemit

  • A waste of time -- You're lured into the idea that you can make money on Steemit, but reality dictates that you'll probably earn 2 cents a post, if you're lucky.
  • Con-artists galore -- This place is just filled with con artists. The worst part is, apparently, and I'm not pointing fingers, but most people here are too ignorant or naive to realize that many of their favorite Steemians are exactly that...con artists.
  • Skewed economics -- This may be the most frustrating element. You pour your heart out into a post, only to receive 50 cents. Then, you realize that it's not about the content, but about the consistency. Just keep posting, crap or not, and eventually, you'll get the dollars.

Ultimately, I presented the opportunity, and a stark warning about Steemit. I think that's more than fair.


This is a great platform to play around with cryptocurrencies. But when you're serious, you should seriously consider investing in the legitimate crypto and altcoins, such as bitcoin, ethereum, litecoin, etc.

That is, of course, you happen to get invited into the whale circle-jerk!

In that case, milk it for all it's worth!
Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42