You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why SteemIt Should Focus on Curation

in #steemit7 years ago

Nice @yabapmatt. I am often surprised by the smart insights children can have on a very young age. In the same way, this is a very correct insight while you seem to be just joining Steemit. Many new members are attracted by the money promise and that leads to an incredible amount of junk indeed. It normally doesn't lead to anything so they also fade away in their efforts after a while but it is disturbing that is there is so much junk out here. The approach for new members now in this junk world should not be to post daily but to post once a week and spend all energy in connecting with other people through comments etc. If I get a comment from somebody, I will always have a quick look who is commenting and maybe follow. I found your post through @theleapingkoala, somebody i connected with in exactly that way.
Anyway to conclude, your insight is great, if more focus would be on curation, then junk would be greatly reduced, very good post, much love.

Sort:  

Yes - good point about the value of comments. A site I read regularly is hacker news and the real value there is in the comments. Sometimes I don't even read the article and just skip to the comments section! A few of my posts have just been questions about how SteemIt works with the goal of getting a really good discussion going in the comments. It hasn't happened yet, but hopefully as I get more followers and SP it will start to.

"It hasn't happened yet"??? This post has +40 comments, that is not too bad i would say :-)

One of the things I like about Steemit is its democratic access - open to all, whether they can spell or accurately string a sentence together. I like that people contribute. We can exercise our own judgment and curate at will. I follow people whose stuff I like, therein I filter what I choose to read. I don't care that it's potentially full of junk, as you call it. I just filter that out. One person's trash is another person's treasure. The characteristic I like most about Steemit is how polite most people are to each other, and welcoming. This I love. It's not a freelance periodical. It's a social media platform.

Wise words @katyclark, i go with that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52