Why so many people don't make it to > 1 SBD rewards - Real Talk

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

My name is Samuel and I am a part of Steemit for 8 months. Nevertheless a lot of my posts get < 1 SBD as a reward and most of them are even under 0.50 SBD. I recognized that a lot of users experience the same.

So why is that?
puzzled-face-man-00-1.jpg

1) A hard start

Nearly everyone has a hard start here on Steemit. I mean let's look at @themarkymark: He started like anyone else. Even though he had good content, rewards were kind of little.
markymark1.JPG
And if you take a look at his Steemit page today you'll see that he has more than 5,000 followers and his posts get a lot of attention. He makes really good rewards on his posts and I am certain that it will still go up.
markymark2.JPGmarkymark3.JPG
So the important question is not: "How do I earn big rewards right from the beginning?", but "How do I become a big player?"

And that may be the problem. A lot of people focus on content that could get a lot of upvotes and help them to grow. That's not bad, but it is better to post things that truly interest you and where you know that you can create premium content. Because what do all these big players have in common? They're all really good in what they are writing/talking/making videos about. So that is more important than anything else:
Concentrate on things you're good at and try your best to make high quality posts.

2) The lucky punch

Some users have experienced a Steemit phenomenon: They had low rewards, nearly no upvotes on their posts and just a few followers. And then: BOOM! A big reward post. "Wow, I must be very luck!" - But is really just luck or good work?!?

Let's look at another example. User @yuriks2000 had a lot of posts with low rewards and out of nowhere: A post with a few houndred SBD and he is at the Trending page.
luckpunch.JPG
Seems like a lucky punch. But wait: If you read his post you will notice that he did great work. This post is a masterpiece as it indroduces a new app for Steemit users. So it's not really luck but hard work that made this happen. So again: Do what you're best at and work hard / try your best. And be innovative, do things no other Steemian has done before you and success may find its way to you!
giphy-downsized.gif

To come back to the topic of point 2): Here's a lucky punch. It happened to me some months ago. Nearly no success till then, no followers or experience. And then a > 100 SBD post. WOW :D
myluck.JPG
It was a lot of luck. I mean my post was not bad but clearly not good enough for such a huge reward. I even didn't got a lot of upvotes. The secret for this success was: I've got an upvote from an user with a lot of Steem Power.

But how to achieve that? Try to use good and striking photos, especially the first one is really important because it appears in the preview of your post. And try to have a strong statement in your heading. That's no guarantee that you will succeed but it will increase your chances by a lot.

3) Use good #tags

Tagging may seem unimportant but it isn't! Why? Because if you use good tags you can reach a lot more users who will see your post and may give it an upvote. Here are a few tips:

  • Use popular tags because if you don't no one will find your post
  • Don't use too popular post because in that case your post will fade away in all these other posts
  • Use the max. tags, even if you can't find any more good ones.

Sure, it is not easy to find good tags but it is really important and you can push all of your posts by using tags. It is easy and fast and no one should forget to include them. If you need inspiration you can take a look at all the posts on the Trending page and see what kind of tags they use.

4) Have fun!

Sure, you want to make a few extra bucks here on Steemit. But don't forget: It should be fun. Because if it isn't it is not your thing. So always try to have fun when using this awesome site.
aw.gif

I wish all of you best of luck and good rewards. Hope to hear from a lot of you ;)

Sort:  

One of the reasons newcomers have such a hard start is partly based on the amalgamation of capital that occurred in the earliest days on here. It's like what happened with industrialization in America--titans of industry began squashing individual enterprise. That was Steem from the start, and they haven't figured out a quality solution yet. This is a decent article, but most of what I've seen on this platform is junk. Lots of good content that is buried, but what moves through my feed is mostly junk.

Good article @btcsam. It does seem luck is part of the trick. Tagging properly means everything unless you follow someone. I think I'm good, then no traction whatsoever. /shrug Hopefully if I wrote something that was bad, someone would say something. I don't try to do anything fancy. I just let my heart and my passion take over.

I'm starting to think if Stephen King started and account under a pseudonym he'd be lost in the sea of junk. I getting tired of seeing copied and plagiarized articles that have been tagged as such making decent amount of money. There is one person...I really need to unfollow, he posts memes all day long with the shame line...Thank you to all of my followers.....blah blah blah. I don't see how someone can post back to back in under 5 minutes. It's just craziness.

I agree with @uapfiasco about this. The community is in a transitional stage, moving into its next phase so there are various issues.

With persistence though we'll make it through.

@uapfiasco You're right, a lot of content on Steemit is not very good. But I discover great content and new talented users daily. For me it is important to sort out the "bad" ones and stick to the outstanding users.

@tryskele Sometimes it is a little bit luck because timing is very important. If I would have posted this post 3 hours later you probably wouldn't read it. Now let's say you have a lot of Steem Power. I don't know anything about you before I write my post and even if I would, I don't know if you would be online and see my post. So it is a bit of luck if you see my post or not.

Wow this is very informative and true. Yes hard work and patience will come a long way. Also I may add engagement. Be visible and sincere with regards to comments. Make friends and engage in the community. 😊

Yeah, you're right. Replying to comments is important too but I forget it most of the time.

I understand, especially if you already have a lot of followers. But going through each one of them may give minnows hope that they are important even for whales. Just my personal thought. 😊

I love to read comments and to reply to them but most of my posts don't have that many comments. If this will change in the future I will spend more time concentrating on comments.

Thank you. The rest will fall in its place. Keep creating quality posts and shine. 😊

I will. I hope you'll do that as well, your content is good. Keep it up 😍

Thank you. 😊

Thank you @btcsam I am one of those steemians whos post barely reaching to atleast 1 SBD and this post of your right now will surely help me to improve as well it motivates me to be better and looking forward for some luck punch

I am happy that my post could motivate you. Keep it up and don't give up until your at the top 😉

yes I will

yep..use good tags, and write good comments - if I have a question I ask in a comment or just say my honest opinion. Greetings @btcsam

Hey @laviniatherapist. Thanks for sharing your opinion. In my experience it is hard to get good rewards on comments, even if they are good.

yes, it is, but not impossible...the biggest reward was 2 SBD for me, just for a comment but it was a huge one, contained 200 words.

2 SBD is pretty good for a comment. My biggest reward was ~ 0.05 SBD. That's the reason why I only write comments if the post could really convince me.

Its like SEO - you have to know how it works and you need good content ;)

That's correct @netzisde. Both is not that easy for beginners...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Great tips ! Ive been so focused on my posts that I have forgotten to comment. I also try to look through posts my upvote is a small amount but at least i give my contribution. And I especially needs to pay attention to my #Hashtags.

Hey @orlena, I had the same problem. I didn't focused on comments that much but I try to change that.
I wish you all the best for your Steemit journey ;)

Thank u:)

All good points. You missed the part where some of them use bid/upvote bots. :)

Sure that's a point too. But most upvote bots are not profitable...

Yeah but those people still use it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34