You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WAIT, LETS TALK ABOUT GAMING TAGS, AUTOVOTING AND POTENTIAL REWARDS

in #steemit7 years ago

Quite frankly, there is nothing that is not allowed on Steemit! It kind of comes with the concept of decentralization. As far as I know there is no way to ban accounts or for Steemit itself to take any punitive measures. It's up to the community to decide what is appropriate and use the tools in their power to shape the platform. The main tool for this is flagging. On other Steem interfaces (such as Busy.org) the flag function is represented as a downvote and I feel that is how it should be perceived. Just as berniesanders laid out his reasons for flagging Korean community posts, eirik is making a good case as to why these posts could stand some flagging as well.
I have nothing against bot voting, I use it myself. But I regularly adjust and monitor my auto votes if I feel a contributor is posting too much content, sub par content, etc. Automating the task of supporting certain authors or communities is very helpful, but there should be conscious thought behind it.

Sort:  

I appreciate the reply. I'm a big supporter of people having absolute freedom to do as they like and I'm glad Steemit's policies support these values as well, and in saying that I can come to accept auto-voting.

It's a beautiful thing that Steemit's perspective as a community is to solve everything as a community. But what is Steemit to do if an army of bots constantly bombard specific users with flags within minutes of posting, hiding their content? What actions would be taken?

Thankfully, though content may be minimized, it's not truly hidden. When such things have happened in the past, users are usually able to "plead their case" to the community and find there is more than enough support to outweigh the bad actors.
The stake weighted nature of voting and the reputation system go a long way toward helping prevent this as well. A bot army has no real teeth to it unless a troll spends a lot of time, effort, and money into building up those accounts so that their flags truly make an impact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39