WAIT, LETS TALK ABOUT GAMING TAGS, AUTOVOTING AND POTENTIAL REWARDS

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It all started with BernieSanders's post where he said that he is flagging #kr posts because they don't have any views or comments, but they still get a huge amount of potential reward.




In the comment section on another post there was a comment from moon32walker that really gets me thinking...






It was below Tygergamer's post. Let me check Tygergamer's activity on Steemit.






Two months ago. So the only thing he is doing now is posting videos of him playing some games and rake a lot of money.

The gaming section is full of people, but there are just a handful of people who see some kind of payout for their content. It does not matter if it takes them a day or two to make or couple of minutes. Only thing that is important is if you have auto-voters going your way.

Oh, a new video from tygergamer, lets check it out, shall we?




Do you know what happened after a minute?




Check the time for yourself. Activity on Steemit was very low when he posted this, but somewhere he gets 24 votes? I think those posts are the most autovoted thing on the whole Steemit platform.

After 15 hours. The same old 200+ auto-votes with almost zero interaction.




@berniesanders, are you talking about rewarding shit? What about your vote-up on these posts then? I don't really think you checked the post or you even know what you are voting on with your own account and your other accounts. :)





But this is just a start! Let see some other posts from other accounts that are sometimes really auto-voted.

What about this? Sweet 50 dollars for 5 views and 0 comments, but 267 votes. Are you also the one voting for this @berniesanders?

Oh wait. And one view is from me!

So it's 4 whole views!!!




And I think these people don't even know what they are voting for...




If you think I am yealous - I am not. I am just angry than some other gamers and people here don't get attention they deserve for their content. I am not against payout regulations, but I am 100% against autovoting and bots!



Thanks for hearing me out!


steebmb.jpg

Sort:  

So, I'm a gamer and I got to know some of the #kr- people from my "starting to learn Korean"-series. My first post on Steemit was about me wanting to learn Korean and @morning started a "Korean for Beginner"-series only 5 hours after I posted my request. The Korean community has been great towards me! Very welcoming, fast in their responses, very supportive and nice people!

I am not a person that likes to witchhunt, but the behaviour of @berniesanders is disgraceful. His comment is oozing entitlement. Does he know how the kr-accounts got so much influence (I dont myself, but thats not the point). Maybe they got all their Steem Power by doing great services to the Steemit Community in the past?
To go ahead and say "All these Koreans don't deserve their upvotes". I don't even know what to say to that.

There was a similar dispute in gaming only days ago, but the conflict was solved, so I don't want to revisit it. There are a lot of things #gaming has to work on. I hope the gaming community grows up to be as supportive and nice as the #kr community is now ;).

I did not know Bernie Sanders was about building walls, but I will sure try to tear those down. Thanks Eirik for bringing this to my attention, followed.

I am not a person that likes to witchhunt, but the behaviour of @berniesanders is disgraceful. His comment is oozing entitlement. Does he know how the kr-accounts got so much influence (I dont myself, but thats not the point). Maybe they got all their Steem Power by doing great services to the Steemit Community in the past?
To go ahead and say "All these Koreans don't deserve their upvotes". I don't even know what to say to that.

At the end of the day as much as I disagree with bernie and his flagging, for the most part at least, trying to oust him as despicable will not get you anywhere but the echo chamber you're in, he knows what he's doing and has no problem with it, so your opinion of him isn't likely to make him change his ways..

On the other hand what eirik has done might garner some interest from him to smite some other posts.
The last remark from me is that starting shit is easy but concluding it is not.

I am not a person that likes to witchhunt, but the behaviour of @berniesanders is disgraceful.

I did not mean to say that , @berniesanders is so despicable, let's all bash him, even tho I dont do that normally.

What I meant to say I do not want to start bashing @berniesanders. I do not like what he did here and I will remember that for future encounters with this person. I will still talk to him, but thats a big minus to me

And what I was saying is that like it or not he's not the type of person that seems to worry about what others think of him, both a plus and a minus. While you're not bashing him why not explain yourself as to why you don't like what he did, but maybe try to actually explain yourself without resorting to putting words he never said into his mouth: "To go ahead and say "All these Koreans don't deserve their upvotes". I don't even know what to say to that." or deconstruct his reasons, instead explain why and how his actions are disagreeable, and I think he deserves that.

To someone that doesn't give a fuck about what others think, including their own mom, it matters little if you talk to me, as a conversation isn't going to happen unless we both engage, and who will believe that you're going to wish to engage someone you don't respect/like, unless you're someone like me that enjoys confrontation and thrives on awkwardness, I doubt you'd try that, as most agreeable people don't want to be seen as disagreeable, no matter how much or why they disagree, eventually when confrunted they revert back to: I don't want to exclude anybody, also not @berniesanders . It would be hypocracy.
Give me the power to exclude people and this place will be a vision of the efficiency of literacy and powered by antimeme spirit to spur about meaningful conversation, but as you can see that would exclude most bullshit poetry, flowery pictures and especially gaming crap, which I do enjoy here and there.

To go ahead and say "All these Koreans don't deserve their upvotes".

Yeah I was mad. I am sorry I have said that, it was in the heat of the moment. It was unnecessary and untrue. I won't delete that part, tho.

I didn't know bernie, so I wasn't aware of his character. But you are generally right and my approach was bad, I admit that. The Koreans did a lot for me, many post bilingual and they always answer on my english comments. That's why I was so mad.

I still think what @berniesanders did was wrong, but me getting all emotional was shameful as well. I am sorry for that.

I won't alter my initial post, because people might wonder why it got downvoted then.

The Koreans did a lot for me

my very first post on Steemit was a request for a Korean language course. @morning started a beginner course 6h after my post and I have been learning korean since, just to elaborate why I am so fond of the #kr people.

I also mentioned him so he would read it. I will not fight him, if he wants to explain his position further so I might understand him better, I would welcome it. If he doesn't, I think it is good to let him know that I strongly disagree with his actions.

I don't want to exclude anybody, also not @berniesanders . It would be hypocracy.

Oh, this is awkward. I've been under the impression that botting or auto-voting would be against the rules. I mean, wouldn't that present obvious problems with the platform if it was allowed?

But, I guess at the same time if it isn't allowed then all it would do is create witch-hunts and divides in the community whenever one suspected another of botting.

I'm not saying anyone is doing anything wrong because truthfully I haven't been around long enough to observe – nevertheless, I'd say auto-voting isn't appropriate.

I'm a hardcore gamer so this content matters to me and I frequent it often. Not sure what to make of all of this though.

Quite frankly, there is nothing that is not allowed on Steemit! It kind of comes with the concept of decentralization. As far as I know there is no way to ban accounts or for Steemit itself to take any punitive measures. It's up to the community to decide what is appropriate and use the tools in their power to shape the platform. The main tool for this is flagging. On other Steem interfaces (such as Busy.org) the flag function is represented as a downvote and I feel that is how it should be perceived. Just as berniesanders laid out his reasons for flagging Korean community posts, eirik is making a good case as to why these posts could stand some flagging as well.
I have nothing against bot voting, I use it myself. But I regularly adjust and monitor my auto votes if I feel a contributor is posting too much content, sub par content, etc. Automating the task of supporting certain authors or communities is very helpful, but there should be conscious thought behind it.

I appreciate the reply. I'm a big supporter of people having absolute freedom to do as they like and I'm glad Steemit's policies support these values as well, and in saying that I can come to accept auto-voting.

It's a beautiful thing that Steemit's perspective as a community is to solve everything as a community. But what is Steemit to do if an army of bots constantly bombard specific users with flags within minutes of posting, hiding their content? What actions would be taken?

Thankfully, though content may be minimized, it's not truly hidden. When such things have happened in the past, users are usually able to "plead their case" to the community and find there is more than enough support to outweigh the bad actors.
The stake weighted nature of voting and the reputation system go a long way toward helping prevent this as well. A bot army has no real teeth to it unless a troll spends a lot of time, effort, and money into building up those accounts so that their flags truly make an impact.

Nice shot~

I found this @kno2015
check please
samesame

You meant knozaki2015 ?

Hey

First of all - I would like to say that I agree with you to a certain degree. Auto-voting and boting is something that doesn't help the community in the long run in my opinion.

But I also want to say - I never asked for people to auto-vote on my posts.
I put a lot of work into my videos and you can clearly see that the vast majority of them aren't subject to this.

But as far as I know - the way this works is that there are people who if they vote on my content - other will autovote on it as well. And I cannot make people not vote on my content.

Do you think it is fair to start flagging me for posting content or do you think it would be better to find a solution that doesn't make anyone else lose their revenue streams?

I also do a LOT of upvoting myself - trying to promote other content that I find good.

Thanks for highlighting :)

No problem. Now we just have to see if bernie changes his attitude.

I've noticed that not only kr, but any post about cryptocurrency from some users breaks the bank in the first 15-20mins of their existing. Probably most of bots are configured to support not so much exciting as a potentially profitable posts. And 200-300 voting bots really makes those posts high-rewarded and profitable for curators. In this case #berniesanders also keep silence...

The issue of autovoting will always plague this system, as will flagging, and by it nature profit is the motivator number one here so almost everything revolves around that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93