Why I'm starting to think that the Steemit community sucks and the number on the ThunderClap campaign show it!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


This third post about the "Steemit's ThunderClap" where I try to reach more Stemians to support this campaign, and so far the number show me that the Steemit community sucks or there's something shady going on on the Steemit backstage.

Let me explain what's going on in my mind, and how I've been feeling towards the "community" and the so-called "steemit promoters" that want to take steemit to the moon.

First of all, I'm not new to marketing and I've been working with agencies for more than 10 Years either in design or marketing strategies. I now how to work a brand and the responsibility one has when promoting a brand. I know the tool to make a strategy, to work the brand, to take it to higher levels BUT all of this is worth NOTHING if in this case, there's no real support from other supporters.


Day 1 and 2 (link to post)

I set up the thunderclap campaign, worked on the graphics and texts. I thought the best way to make this campaign viral and I decided to direct this campaign right in the face of Steemit's biggest competitor by using #facebook and right next to it the URL where people should go. It's a 140 character message so it's hard to make a catchy headline but I think I got it.

The first post did well, and on the first day, the campaign manages to gather more than 40 supporters, although far from the 500 goal it was a start and maybe things would pick up on the next day. But on the next day only around 20 new supporters, and that was telling me that maybe.... maybe this community is all fluff and cotton candy where everyone is looking at their own belly and they don't see the HUGE marketing possibilities of this campaign.

I when to steemit.chat to promote the campaign and for my surprise, I was bashed and insulted a few times. I explain that I'm not doing this to get upvotes although the upvotes are needed to get visibility and to reach the top listings but people simply don't fucking care! I even started to share the direct link to the thunderclap campaign and not sharing the link to my posts for people to really support the campaign and not only upvote.

I'm not a guy that quits easily and at the end of day 2 I thought on making another post to incentive the community to share the campaign...


Day 3 and 4 (link to post)

On day 3 I've made a new graphics aiming to the steemit community and share it again over on steemit.chat / tweeter and facebook steemit group. And on that day I manage to bring to the campaign more than 15 people reaching almost 60 supports... and still very far from the 500 supporters goal (that would reach at day of campaign between 1 million to 2 million people!). In the last day only ONE supporter join making it the round number of 60 supporters.

Today is day four and no supporters have join. It's hard because people didn't helped me out sharing the campaign, people didn't make the campaign reach the top listings (visibility), people didn't share on twitter or facebook about the thunderclap campaign, people simply haven't help out this campaign! And I'm not talking about the post's upvote! What I want is to rise the number of supporters to reach the goal of 500 supporters! (although I'm thinking on lowering the bar as I'll explaing later on in this post). Now I've made new images and this new post hoping that people may start to UNDERSTAND what I'm trying to achieve! This is a huge campaign and people just aren't taking this opportunity to take Steemit even higher.

I've been talking with other steemit enthusiasts and they've supported this campaign since dayone, they see the potential of this campaign, they see that this is bigger than me or you, this campaign can be HUGE and maybe the biggest ever in crypto regarding this kind of marketing strategy!

Regarding the title of the post. Yes, all of this makes me feel and think that the steemit community simply does not care about REAL campaigns that can bring REAL value to steemit, maybe the community is so selfcentered that they can't see outside the box. Or it's even worse if the reason is simply that people don't wan't more users in steemit because then it will be harder to take profit's from the posts, if this is the case, steemit is rotten from the inside and will collapse withing itself in the future. I really hope this isn't the case, though!

I know I'll be bashed and people will trow bricks, stones and even downvotes, I'm prepared for that! but maybe some people will understand what I'm talking about, maybe some people will help me... and when I type "ME" it's not me they are helping... it's steemit, because at the end, all of this is to promote steemit not myself!


NOW ABOUT THE THUNDERCLAP CAMPAIGN

if you haven't please see this video to understand what's this campaign and how it works.

And are the new images. I've decided to go back to the 2 blue colours and changed the MisterT with an "friendlier" image to help promote this campaign. Maybe this will workout better? maybe not!


And a banner style image
(You can use all the images in this post to promote the campaign on your posts or shares)



SUPPORT this by becoming a supporter and by sharing this link:

Campaign link: https://www.thunderclap.it/projects/45276-the-first-steemit-crowdspeak

Campaign shortlink: http://thndr.me/TNV7ld

-> CLICK TO SUPPORT CAMPAIGN <-


What's a Thunderclap campaign?

It's very simple. Everyone can become a supporter, and when you support the campaign you're linking your facebook, twitter and on August 13, every supporter will post automatically the message on their walls and tweet it also. So if the 500 supporters release their message at the same time, this campaign will reach the target audience in a viral and massive way. For this campaign, I think we'll reach an audience from 1 to 2 million people!


Again, please help by becoming a supporter and also by promoting the main campaign. Make your own post's on Steemit, share it on facebook, tweet it, share this with all your friends & followers!

Campaign link: https://www.thunderclap.it/projects/45276-the-first-steemit-crowdspeak
Campaign shortlink: http://thndr.me/TNV7ld

Let's reach the 500 supporters goal!


PS: Yes I had to choose this sensionalistic title to bring more people to this post, and maybe, maybe they will read and support at the end...


Sort:  

Why don't you get in touch with @cryptoctopus to unite your efforts?He is the guy that is responsible for official steemit facebook page https://www.facebook.com/steemit/ ! He could bring your message to all fb subscribed users! not?

PS You can find in on https://steemit.chat as @cryptoctopus
PS2 to get the idea ... https://steemit.com/marketing/@cryptoctopus/steemit-facebook-page-insights-from-the-guy-who-is-managing-it-7-17-2016

Ok, thank I'll try to reach him. Although I post every time there promoting the thunderclap campaign.
But thanks for the links and support. Cheers @liondani

i just don't liked your title...

"...that the Steemit community sucks"

That will not help so much your efforts ...
I almost wouldn't support it just for that

I know the thin line I was walking when I choose that expression. But once again, this sensationalist title was intended to create attention to the campaign, and it kind of worked because there are more supporters at the campaign.

Maybe people just don't like the way thunderclap works as a marketing tool. Steemit is still in beta and it has lots of features to build, as of now, the word of mouth seems to be working great for steemit.

then why are people promoting it mouth to mouth? or with flyers.. it's the same...

There is a difference telling somebody one to one about something than having copy pasted text appear on your facebook wall, but I'm not saying this isn't good nor bad, but it's just not for everyone. I however, wish you luck with this project!

Wow amazing post cant wait to thunderclap myself ,lets all thunderclap together , hhhm maybe im a bit drunk tonight :)

Currently the steemit cummity is very very small, it has just some 5000 active accounts. To bring 10% of them to sign up is not that easy. So please be more patient with your fellow steemers.
With time more users will join and sign up for your campain, maybe not in time for this campain, but maybe for the next.
Wish you good luck. And Yea I signed up an added a German Text:
(feel free to use and change it)

Hey all,
mit Steem gibt es jetzt eine Open Source Alternative zu Facebook und Reddit ohne Zensur und Werbung, wo man sogar noch belohnt wird etwas gutes beizutragen. Das Ganze funktioniert ganz einfach:
Von Tag zu Tag bekommt jeder Anteile an steem ausgeschüttet in Form von Steem Dollars und Steem Power. Community Mitglieder können dabei Abstimmen wie mit einem ¨like¨ welche Posts belohnt werden.

Wie kann das ganze funktionieren? Ganz einfach nehme z.B. Facebook, es hat einen Wert von mehreren Milliarden Dollar. In Fall von Steem werden 5% davon jedes Jahr an die Benutzer verteilt. Da Steem Open Source ist, gibt es keinen Boss, der bestimmt wer wie viel bekommt. Nur die Community / die einzelnen Nutzer bestimmen das.

Lange rede kurzer Sinn, probierts einfach mal aus.

Wünsche euch viel Spass beim posten und happy Steeming!

Martin

P.s.: Meinen Steem Blog könnt ihr hier finden:
https://steemit.com/@arcurus

I don't think we can blame him for assuming the 14,601 active users in the past 7 days are not fake. If they are 67% Sybil attacks or abandoned accounts, then we have an abysmal adoption rate. Either way, I think he has reason to be concerned about the inability to signup even 100 supporters.

yea as said, we are in the very very early days of steem... from 14601 active users maybe 10.000 are new in the last two weeks. hard to expect them to find a post that is hidden like this and then to sign even up to promote steem. What i meant simple is, don't give up yet, good things take some time...

The 500 is the starting goal, on the next post I'll be talking about a possible reduction to 250 or 100 as goal, but all will be explain tomorrow.

Done!

I thank you in steemit behalf (even with 3 people you've added) :) you're supporting that's the thing!

It would seem this post will go viral. But not the thunderclap... Haha it's just at 61 supporters =O

Well done @brunopro

Title and everything else. Steemit needs people like you, no helicopter money followers :D

Great post! Love it! You are so right!

@brunopro my upvote is not for whatever this thunderclap thingy is and in spite of first hearing about it on steemit.chat.

My upvote is purely for your decision to be vocally annoyed at all the anarchist money posts.

Done! Never heard of Thunderclap before - it looks like a very cool way to create buzz!

Or it's even worse if the reason is simply that people don't wan't more users in steemit because then it will be harder to take profit's from the posts, if this is the case, steemit is rotten from the inside and will collapse withing itself in the future. I really hope this isn't the case, though!

That is potentially a very astute insight. Since the rewards are always proportional to the market cap, the bloggers already on the site, don't really have an incentive to bring more bloggers to the site, unless those new signups also invest their money, which of course most all new signups don't do.

yes, but that will not make steemit grow... and it will grow either with their help or their resistance...

As I further clarified at bitcointalk discussion, I think any such effect would only be subconscious, if at all. I don't think any one is consciously against competition for rewards due to more signups.

the more people blog here, the more steemit will be known, the more known and used the better for all. Just look at the net-worth of facebook, the more it use the more is the value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51