Steemit Pool Meeting - Social Media And Where It Is Going w/ @jennmcamis

in #steemit8 years ago

My friend Jenn and I had a pool meeting today to discuss where social media is going and some of the aspects that make certain platforms attractive for users.  Watch the full pool meeting for the open talk on our thoughts and future predictions. 

Summary and Additional Thoughts

We discussed the longevity of media on platforms such as YouTube and Instagram.  Platforms such as Snapchat don't have the longevity but Jenn feels that the real connection between viewers and content creators is a lot more real with Snapchat.  

I agree that interacting with your followers is a very big deal and they love to hear replies to their comments, hear their comment or question being read in a video, or hear a general shout out.  There is no way around it social media is so big today that those who gain large followings are celebrities.  Not just celebrities on social media but celebrities period.  Last new years Bart Baker who is a YouTuber who does parody videos like Weird Al was hosting the new years bash in Time Square.  I was like WOW!  

Personally I feel the inability to directly monetize certain platforms is a hindrance for me to spend too much time on them.  Facebook is this way for me.  Don't get me wrong  Facebook is cool and I feel it is a positive value add for users to be able to use that service for free.  I'm not personally going to spend the majority of my time there though because it can only indirectly make you money by trying to funnel people over to your own website.  Also Facebook has become very annoying by trying to constantly snag your phone number and then spread like a virus to all your contacts in your phone.  It is very sneaky about how it does this.  Often by way of 3rd party apps that have tried to verify you as a real user and not a bot.  Facebook will say "Thank you very much!" and try to suggest you to all the people you haven't talked to for years.  This is sometimes extremely annoying in my personal opinion.  

Platforms such as YouTube and Steemit can directly make you money.  I consider Instagram and Twitter to mainly be indirect methods to make money even if you have sponsored Tweets or sponsored product placement in your Instagram photos.  

Follow Jenn From Day 1!  

I just told Jenn about Steemit and she is super excited. We are getting her ramped up and she is getting ready to release her first introduction post!  @jennmcamis  Here is the link to her introduction post.  https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jennmcamis/i-m-jenn-an-adventurer-personal-trainer-rescue-dog-mom-and-digital-nomad

She has the same handle on all social media as well.  Here are a few links so you can connect with her!  

Website -  http://www.jennmcamis.com/

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/jennmcamis/


Sort:  

very cool pool meeting :), looks like you are starting to build a nice following on steemit

@craig-grant Thanks Craig. I felt like it was a good way to mix it up. Hopefully @jennmcamis can get a good boost to start out with!

I always thought youtube would be my effort when "things/life" slowed down, but now we have steemit...exciting times ahead!

YouTube is a solid platform but to really make much you have to put in a multi year effort very consistantly which will most likely not be profitable for a couple of years. It is a rough grind and it is almost a thing that is better placed as a hobby or if someone is already financially set then they can play the long term game and hopefully make it.

I have spent a vast amount of time curating my online pressence on a wide variety of sites. I think one of the most attractive things about steemit other than the obvious financial incentive, is that it has real potential to blow up and set the precedent for how content creators earn in the future.
Its sort of a self fulfilling prophecy in a way, the users flock here to try get a piece of the pie, and in doing so, increase the size of the pie.. Meanwhile, the early adopters reap the rewards because of their accumulated presence .

I agree as well. Social media sites really are a big battle for users attention. When there is a platform that can payout like Steemit users will spill in. The cat is out of the bag! Welcome to the VIP of social media

By the way, live video has been a phenomenon that is absolutely blown up in China. It's strange that something like this would take off in China first . I think if the west had a look at the live video stuff the Chinese are doing now, the quality would be upped massively.

Its not without caveats though. A whole generation of people seem to think they can just broadcast to make a living .

It definitely takes lot more mental capacity to work a blog.

That is surprising that Live Video has blown up in China. I think a lot of people do have a misunderstanding of how hard it is to be a content creator for a living.

I had so much fun talking all things social media in the pool today! Looking forward to more pool meetings in the future :)

@jennmcamis Yeah it was awesome and I'm sure people enjoy hearing your viewpoints on the matter! More pool meetings it is!

So, is it a mining pool?

Yay! Fantastic video. You posted whilst I was asleep, so I'm late to the party :(

@opheliafu I should be asleep. But I just got back and figured I would push this post a little more

I'm about to post about it.

  • 1 to pool meetings!
    By the way nothing wrong with being attacked by whales!
    Also, what is World War 2 there ? The plane noise ...sounds like an F18 hornet just went by ?

@steemitqa Thank you for attending the pool meeting! There is an airforce base here but I don't live real close to it. I looked up a couple times because it did seem like there was way more activity and I was expecting to see a couple Worthogs but I didn't see where it was coming from.

just trying to keep up the constant streem of social media is exhausting, i've barely been back since i found steemit.

There are so many sites jockeying for position it is hard to keep up on. I'm surprised people are so into some of the sites.

I think it just becomes a habit, when my depression was at it's worst i often found myself scrolling through but never really digesting anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66804.20
ETH 2581.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66