I'm Jenn! An adventurer, personal trainer, rescue dog mom and digital nomad!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello from hot, sunny Tucson, Arizona! I'm Jenn McAmis. An adventurer and outdoor addict, certified personal trainer, yoga dabbler and slackline lover, rescue dog mom and digital nomad working primarily in social media marketing. Watch my super short (30 second) intro video here:

My motto for both life and business is "Move. Adventure. Live the life you've dreamed." Learn more about my world in those categories below!

Move.

I've worked in the fitness industry for the last 5 years after dropping out of my PhD in Political Science. I truly believe fitness should be fun and engaging. Yes, lifting weights is important. However, there's a lot of value in getting outside and simply letting yourself grow stronger through play. Currently I train individual clients both in Tucson and online.

Adventure.

I live to adventure. To be climbing a new mountain or dropping a new canyon is to be in my happy place. If someone made me choose between only going up mountains or down canyons for the rest of my life, I would probably cry.

Canyons are magical places with a variety of challenges and unique situations. These are some of my favorite canyons in Utah: 

Subway Canyon in Zion National Park

Neon Canyon in Escalante

However, I love the awe and powerful feeling that come from summiting a technical mountain. Even if the climb is easy, it's hard not to feel incredible at the top. The first picture is summiting my first multi-pitch climb ever, Elephant's Head in Mendoza Canyon. The second is from Dreamscape Buttress in the Cochise Stronghold.

Lucky for me, I don't have to choose and can stick to both climbing and descending as often as possible!

Live the life you've dreamed.

Even 6 months ago, I couldn't have told you what my dream life looked like. I was working a full time job as a personal trainer at a fitness resort and trying to figure out the world of social media partnerships that actually paid the bills and how to make online training work for me and my clients. However, thanks to some mostly-calculated risks, I quit my full time job in April and haven't looked back (too much). Each day brings me even closer to bliss I didn't know was real.

I travel often and take jumping pictures almost constantly (luckily I have lots of people in my life that humor me and will take them - shoutout to @brianphobos for this one with the whale!).

I'm on track to live out of my car with my dogs for at least a month starting in September (ideally it would be a van instead of my CR-V, but that's not in the budget! I'll share the overhaul project with all of you as it happens - any suggestions, send them my way!). Speaking of, I have two ridiculous but lovable rescue dogs. Meeka is a 9ish year old Whippet/German Shepherd mix that's terrified of everything, but thinks she's a tough badass.

Rico is a 13ish year old, goofy-eyed Akita Heeler mix. He came to live with me when he was 11. How anyone could get rid of this precious old dog is beyond me. He'll let anyone know that he's the main man in my life :).

Coming into the Steemit community, I kind of feel like an outsider. While I know social media well (you can stalk me on every platform at jennmcamis), I know next to nothing about cryptocurrency. Like I mostly understand the stories about it on NPR and that's it. However, I'm extremely excited to learn something new and get to be part of an incredible community while doing so. Any other adventure and fitness addicts, dog lovers or digital nomads around? So thrilled to have you all as part of my adventure.

Sort:  

Great post Jenn and welcome to Steemit! It was fun hanging out today!

Thanks for introducing me to it!! Today was a blast :)

this is GREAT :)

Thank you!

@jennmcamis Hi and welcome! You are quite an adventurer, climbing and all. Too bad that I'm afraid of heights or else, I'd be bungee jumping or something exciting. Anyhow, welcome aboard. Just a newbie minnow swimming by to say, 'Hi'! 🐟

Thanks for saying hi!! I'm actually terrified of the feeling of falling, but that's part of my motivation to do crazy things :) We could find some kind of adventure you liked, I'm sure of it!

good intro! welcome to steemit family

Thank you! It seems like a wonderful one!

Welcome to Steemit! Great pool meeting video with @brianphobos too! Following you, what exciting pictures you have :D

Thanks! Glad you liked the pool meeting too! I LOVE pictures and adventures. I'm glad to share and am excited to pass along more!

I've popped you in my latest post, you are slack-lining over the sea.

Welcome Jenn! Come on In...More coffee & bagels are in the back:)

Thanks!! Coffee is my life force, so more is always a good thing ;)

He who will not economize will have to agonize.

Lovely post, thank you so much for sharing with us! Welcome to the community! I think you will love it here! Happy Steeming! :) xx

I already think I"ll love it too :) xoxo

Hi Jenn, really enjoyed your introduction. Welcome to Steemit from a fellow free spirit and adventurer! Look forward to reading your future posts.

Thank you!! I look forward to yours as well - always wonderful to connect with fellow adventurers!

How does a lion like his meat? -ROAR

Hi jenn wow you are a busy girl. nice to meet you

Busy > bored :) Nice to met you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36