Steemit Observation By @brianphobos : View Counter Mysteriously Disappeared

in #steemit7 years ago

For the hardcore Internet marketers here on Steemit the view counter was an interesting addition recently to see how many views a blog post was getting compared to the amount of upvotes it got.  Clearly there is a lot of votes coming from bots and that might be one of the reasons this revision was taken away.  For outsiders it looks weird possibly even scammy if a post gets 93 views and makes $203.  

Typically for sites with an advertisement revenue model the standard conversion is 1000 views make a dollar.  On YouTube for instance it depends where your views are coming from and what the subject matter is.  I have had channels that were around $0.80 / 1000 views and I have another channel that is $2 / 1000 views.  Generally it is going to be somewhere in there.  

The initial revision with the view counter was announced 8 days ago on the @steemitblog.  The post can be viewed here.  

I really liked the view counter because I found it interesting to look at but I can sort of understand why it might have been taken away.  Steemit is a different payout structure than anything the Internet has ever seen before.  It might leave people looking at it like a confused puppy dog.  

Did you guys like the view counter?  Should it come back?  

Sort:  

Very giid post. I like the view counter but I think it should be taken away because it might lead to complains about how some good earners are making it daily. Everybody will never earn the same as strategies are diffrent. Some build alliance, post great contents or favorites of whales and dolphines . My posts are ok but as a new member without contacts, it struggles hence why I keep working even harder and know that my time to shine will come. Thanks for sharing

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

you are right.. . just noticed as well

Before it was ever implemented I would notice that if I had a video embedded that I had made the views would be super low which told me people typically weren't watching or reading the posts. Now that most people have employed voting bots the situation is further slanted in that direction I feel. Which that is fine if you are on a whales voting list.

I noticed since yesterday. Also I am not seeing any notifications.

Yeah I haven't seen any mention about it. I kind of figure that Steemit Inc decided it wasn't a good reflection on the system since the views would be pretty low on posts so they took it away. I'm not sure.
I can understand though.

I feel the view counter went away because it is a really big pain in the ass to do as a decentralized system. The only way to properly do it is each person if they have seen it or not. So, to view a count, you query all the people and count how many saw it.

The way I think they did it was to count how many people clicked on the link, and stored that in the posts information. (like where they store the vote count). But this gets frustrating, as you have more than one source for viewing. Steemit and Steemd being just 2 examples.

The way it appears they implemented it, also appeared buggy in other ways. As in, causing more net traffic.

I feel it was just poorly implemented, and now it is back to the drawing boards. (and yes, if you go to steemd you can see all the bot groups vote in groups at specific times.)

That makes sense considering there are more than 1 front end to the STEEM blockchain (Steemd like you mentioned). Yeah the bots run in packs! lol

Only just realised!

I was looking at it a lot just out of curiosity and then suddenly saw it wasn't there anymore.

So do you think it was deliberate? Might just be a bug.

I think it was deliberate. I think there are two possible scenarios. That it wasn't quite working the way they intended like someone else said in the comments or it just didn't reflect well on the way packs of bots are auto upvoting posts. It would sort of look fishy to outsiders and even to the people here who consistently see certain people upvoted automatically getting high payouts for whatever they post. It could cause a sense of unfairness when people see the numbers.

True. If that is the case they might wait until the Steem price is higher before bringing it back.

That is possible. The numbers will look more impressive when the traffic spikes.

Yes and the unevenness will be less obvious. It may still be there but if those people getting pennies are getting tens of dollars instead it eases the pain.

I was watching my view counter like a hawk. I miss it :(

It wasn't an accurate count anyway..... might help to not miss it :)

a phenomenon of "no eye see".
BTW, your this post has a problem. There is a issue with using all 5 tags and only the first one works. Until that is fixed, suggest you drop one tag. :-)

I like the view counter, because I like to see what people are interested in actually reading! Great post Brian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81