You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anyone Else Think Steemit Feels Like A Ghost Town? Is it Proof that Without Financial Incentive Steemit isn't that Great?

in #steemit6 years ago

Hahha, I was saying the same thing over a year ago. Everything turned into a worst ghost town than what you are seeing now. Imagine STEEM prices sub $0.20 , a completely unfair distribution with a handful of god kings, and a voting format where nobody had any power except that handful of god kings. It was like being a court jester trying to entertain a king. The platform still struggles to correct itself from a ridiculous launch.

And I do agree that it is more like playing a game on here and making friends. One of the disappointments in my mind is that I'm supporting over 120 people and a lot of them I have been supporting with automatic upvotes since 2016 but I only have about 15 or less upvoting me. That is a serious slap in the face because in my mind I figured that everyone would move up together overtime.

I suppose I'm not being greedy enough potentially. Also another hope is that as other platforms launch like the one that will be on EOS we will all be on all these platforms earning from every one of them to diversify more.

I agree with you that for all practical purposes a person can't really spend too much time creating amazing unique content for this platform the way it is organized. The unfortunate thing is that for the next 7 days I really have to pump a lot of content on here to get some decent earnings which is going to be real hard truthfully with prices down and people begin to be even more greedy when prices fall.

Sort:  

Yeah I can definately relate to feeling like you give more than you get. While there are some great people on here I feel like I'm pretty generous with my votes and I feel like I give a lot more than I get back. That said I do get that alot of people probably have made more connections than me so have to spread out their votes more.

I was thinking about you yesterday, I was watching a livestream by @captainshorif , he's a Youtube prankester. On the livestream he was talking about how he's broke, he's trying to grow his channel, he's been doing this for 6 or 7 years, he said Patreon is helping out a little but he's trying to figure out how to make more and how to take it to the next level.

Not sure if you ever run into this but sometimes I see a channel wtihout seeing a sub count or really paying attention to views and I assume people are doing very well because they've been active for a while, they put out good content, have a nice intro, good channel art. I was kinda surprised to see he had 17k subs, dont get me wrong thats good but I would have assumed he had like 100k since so many crappy prank channels have a ton.

Anyhow, i suggested he checkout steemit and dtube. Due to the nature of his content he's not gonna get much love from youtube and probably can't use adsense. I suggested he come on over here. I think I may try to get him on my channel to do an interview and talk about youtubing and stuff. I suggested he checkout you and @pranks as well as I know you were starting the prank thing up on here.

I had bought a couple accounts for various areas of interest and was thinking about expanding but as things stand now its just not worth it. I had an idea I was gonna hit you up about, it was going to be starting an ad network so to speak for steemit, kind of how people join youtube ad networks. at this point in the game i dont think it would be very profitable.

Yeah I also wanted to do the whole Steemit "Network" thing back in 2016 and help on board people and that was the basic premise behind the @pranks channel but it is real tough unless I had a couple hundred thousand STEEM Power to where I could definitively support people from the start.

In my opinion one of the only ways to do it at this point is to power up a ton while the price is low and then when we get a big price spike in the future and there is a lot of excitement around it that will be the payoff but as we saw with this last spike it happened so fast that even benefiting from it was so short lived it was a flash in the pan.

Sometimes I honestly think about just hogging my STEEM Power for myself and about 10 others but I guess I keep having the hope that if I do the "right thing" it will turn out in the end. I guess in the same thinking I could have had a more lucrative athletic career if I would have taken Performance Enhancing drugs but I stayed clean and didn't make it as far and I was good with that because I know I was the real deal. I don't know if it is the same on here or if that is a good comparison.

I wish we could power up a ton and be like "We are taking over this biatch" lol But it isn't plausible because the initial distribution back in 2016 was so extremely fucked up that those who benefited were so far ahead that there is no real way to catch up to that.

I'm thinking about pumping up my last post with a bunch of upvote bots but with the prices eroding that probably won't make a lot of sense but it is one of the best posts I have ever done.

Yeah for now I'm just gonna keep doing what I'm doing. But I agree,Sadly I think the only way to get ahead on here is to form a team or a tribe and do nothing but a circle of upvoting and resteeming each other and continue growing power within the team

Yeah, I thought that would have naturally happened and it did to a point and I'm lucky a couple people check in on my blog once in awhile but personally a lot of them for whatever reason won't use Steem Voter so I have to go over to their blog and leave comments which is fine when I'm casually on here but when I'm trying to make legit headway and need the money to come in it gets annoying in some respects because how am I going to go over to 100+ different people's blogs who I'm already auto upvoting myself to show support. It feels like having a painting company but having to get a new paintbrush for every single color instead of just washing out the brush and being more efficient.

Hi Brian

I love your reply. I was just wondering if there is any reason why you seem not to be using bots to generate more profit on your valuable posts?

When the upvote bots first came out one of the main ones was Rando Whale and for a short time it was somewhat profitable but then as more people started using it it was somewhat questionable. Now with the prices sinking so fast when I do the calculations even if it is marginally profitable right at the beginning a person isn't going to get the payout for 7 days so you are going to pay with SBD at a value and you won't get that "profit" for 7 days and those coins will likely be lower as everything is going down.

The math is tough but a lot of the people buying the upvotes aren't really getting ahead. They might be gaining more fake followers but it isn't converting into real profits from a lot of what I'm seeing.

I equate it to a person buying tools to mine gold. But in reality it is more profitable to sell the picks and shovels to mine the gold.

Thank you for such a rich reply.
To be honest I didnt think that you will even bother considering to write back the fact that you have reputation 67.

will definetly follow you closely from now. you can count on my engagement.

anyway does it really matter what is price of steem or SBD? I really cannot understand that particular reason. I purchased some steem a while ago and now I dont really mind current price. At the end of the day Im not planning to power down and my rewards in SBD are still the same if I use bots. Am I right? Or did I miss something?

Also I realized that the only time of the day when bots are quite affordable is middle of the night (when most people are asleep). Or sundays.

Cheers mate, good luck with picks and shovels :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76