What is the number in parentheses beside usernames?

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm still new to Steemit and still learning a lot, but I have noticed that usernames now have a number in parentheses beside them. For example, mine says brendio (1).

Just wondering, what does the number mean? I can't seem to find info on it.

Sort:  

I upvoted You

Now it has changed to (2) for me. Is it a post count? I see some people with negative numbers though.

I have 25 next to my user name and have not posted anything beside this reply right now! So got more hunting for the answer is needed I guess.

See the comments below: it is a measure of reputation based on votes your posts receive. You start in the 20s (they rescaled it since this post). If you receive upvotes from higher rep users it increases your score. Down votes decrease it. Spammers with lots of downvotes and negative rep have posts hidden by default.

In other news, I have now been on Steemit for a year. This was me learning the system. There's lots to learn, but people are generally quite helpful.

So is there a maximum? cause I havent seen like 1000 for example

Now it all makes sense. Thank you!

Thank you. This is helpful.

Ah this makes sense now, still learning the ropes, great to find explanations like this in comments and posts!

Thanks mate!

Thank you for the explanation. I have some work to do to increase my reputation. Maybe creating value will help in the long run.

Thanks for that info. I found this thread through Google looking for this answer.

Thank you, I was about to ask the same question :)

I think it is your value as seen by the steemit system. The higher your number the more reputable and valuable your posts and replies are to the community.

Thanks. So I've just doubled my value! :)

Thanks, I Googled this question and found your post. Awesome!

Thanks, I was wondering the exact same thing, so I got here from googling it. I'm still learning how steemit works, this is a good start! :)

Thanks so much. I was wondering the same thing. I just joined yesterday and I’m up to 30. I couldn’t figure out what the heck it meant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00