Does Anyone Wear Socks on Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I had had it with Steemit. Enough is enough. My work, my content, all my beautiful posts and replies, all to no avail. What the ...? I even posted a Help Me thing, hoping someone, some kind Steemit soul, might reach out and offer some insight or assistance. Well, doesn't seem that way either. (update - some kind steemit souls did... thank you.)

I was asking that if I bought some Steem if that would help super charge my posts/votes/replies? Well, I don't know. I just don't know. Maybe no one actually knows the answer to any of this. In any case, how much Steem am I supposed to buy? I don't have that much money. Hardly any. And lord knows, I sure didn't make any on Steemit. Well, that's when I did it.

That's when I swore that I was now gonna Submit A Story that was so incredible and wonderful, that was so unique and special to Steemit, that it would knock everyone's socks off.

Then I realized, to my horror, that with my luck, no one on Steemit probably even wears socks!

Which begs the all-important question - Does anyone wear socks on Steemit?

Sort:  

I wear socks.

As to feeling frustrated / under appreciated. I get it. I had quick look through your post history and you seem (correct me if i'm wrong) to have posted a lot of content about celebrities/models/beauty etc.
My advice and this is purely specualation is - I think something to be aware of is the current vs future audience of steemit. If you look at the posts that are doing well, they seem to be around

  • crypto/tech,
  • politics (Anachism/Voluntarism etc),
  • Lifestyle(Travel) and
  • Art (Photogaphy, Original artwork)

The audience is still fairly small. However, if steemit does become more popular and a wider audience it will allow for more niche content to be rewarded/discussed more. I'd try not to be too discouraged by this, but see it as an opportunity to build a reputation within that space whilst it's small.

In regard to buying steem to earn more. This is a complicated proposition and you will need to do some additional research and come to your own conclusions about whether investing in steem is a good decision for you.

However, what I can say is that having a lot of steem doesn't directly increase your post payout (unless you upvote yourself i guess - which would be a minimal return). However it does give you more influence on the site. holding your steem as Steem Power also earns you a portion of the new steem being created at the moment that is around (i believe) 312% whether this is increasing the value of your account or is diluting depends on the price/growth of steem as well. There is also a return mechanism for holding SBD.
What you should see an increase in (apart from SP/SBD interest) is your share of curation rewards which will go up based on your share of the 'pool' of votes for a post.

I know this all sounds a bit complicated but if you do a quick search (using the magnifying glass in the top right of the nav bar). You will see some great posts that outline how all of this works. Or perhaps consider checking out the Steem 101 book. A couple to get you started are:
Steemrollin's post
Arhag's similar post on the economics of steem

Good luck with your sock knocking

The key is this... They want you to spread your posts on other social media and convince people to sign up. when your friends see your post they upvote your stuff because they're your friends... I would not actually recommend buying any steem or steem power without having a really good idea of what you're doing. And yes I used text to speech and sometimes it sucks a lot

did you leave? someday...

Congratulations @brendauniverse! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44