You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curious Case Of The Destitute YouTubers

in #steemit8 years ago

Legitimately read through the entire thing and loved it. I think you're echoing the same sentiment that I said early on in Steemit's life cycle that those who can successfully use Steemit as a vehicle to reach a wider audience and funnel that audience to their own sites (blogs, YouTube channels, etc.) will be the ones that find the most success on Steemit.

On an unrelated note, I've been thinking of starting up a gaming YouTube channel. What are your thoughts on that and do you have any strategies on what would be the most profitable way to go about that?

Sort:  

Honestly I'm sort of thinking about it a little bit as the opposite in some ways. I would rather pull subscribers from YouTube over to Steemit since Steemit already has a working payout system. At first their vote won't count for much but eventually as they gain power in 6 months to a year then the payouts could really become big overtime. I will branch to the other blockchain related social media sites as well like Synereo if those every come out. I will pretty much replicate my Steemit material over there.
As far as a gaming channel on YouTube you have a very uphill battle at this point which I'm sure you are aware of. There are a lot of different routes you can go with it but almost all of them are going to take a ton of time to gain traction. I almost feel like a person has to be 100% full time with it to get anywhere. You would have to be at the top of your game as far as titles and screenshots go and really piggy back off of FaZe, PewDiePie, or whoever on the tags and all that. Then in the descriptions you would have to write entire blog posts to maximize YouTube SEO. Just doing the SEO on YouTube is a science in itself at this point. I'm not trying to say you shouldn't do it but I think you will be disappointed if you only have time to post once a week or so.
In my opinion I think you could gain traction by doing the YouTube channel for gaming but do it specifically for Steemit and don't really worry much about monetizing it on YouTube or building the following there. It would be interesting but I'm pretty sure this demographic of users are gamers or at least a large percentage are.

Oh I definitely knew it was going to be an uphill battle. I'm at the very infant stages of even thinking about it and couldn't help but ask your opinion since you seem like you have a solid grasp on the YouTube deal. I'll have to keep your advice in mind and I am very thankful for your thoughtful and deep response.

Yeah and once again I'm not trying to be discouraging or dream crushing. I have had to pull the plug on a few YouTube channels after I saw the results. Just the time horizon of when it would break even was way too far out. To be perfectly honest with you the perfect time to start a YouTube channel is when a kids is in junior high or high school. That way they don't have a lot of overhead and they don't have bills in the back of their mind.
I just looked at your blog. Honestly I feel like the best way to test the waters is on here and review some video games in some blog posts. That way you can see what kind of reception you get.

With zero relevant tags on steemit related to video games that seems like a proposition that will die on the vine.

I wouldn't worry too much about the tags not being there. You could make the first tag "life" because video games are part of your life and then just tag the rest with stuff more specific to the game. I mean if you look at the list of tags even "halo" is on the list at the bottom and that is all from Steemit girl Halo. So it isn't impossible to get your own tag on there. Plus just pimp the post in Steemit.chat. If people like it then it has a good chance of catching fire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43