Dear Steemit Community, what do you feel about D.live Leaving

in #steemit6 years ago

Dlive, the live streaming app, left Steemit for another Blockchain "Lino"
I Want to gather some opinions from steemit members here about what you feel about D.live leaving

I used it for around 3-4 months, and was uploading videos onto it quite frequently.

The reason they give for Leaving was because "Steemit didn't provide enough" for them to sustain themselves

https://steemit.com/dlive/@wa7/dlive-is-leaving-steem-and-this-is-my-last-blog-post-on-steemit

But at the end of the day, it seems like Lino is exactly like Steemit in terms of blockchain, and doesn't really offer much more for hosting files / streaming video.

Whats your take on this?

Sort:  

The main problem is that none of these sites have the resources that mainstream competitors have; reliability and user experience can be disappointing at times compared to YouTube or more established streaming services. The average viewer probably cares little for any kind of blockchain technology, they simply want to watch their content.

True. This what’s lacking the most in this space. Reliability. Many of these products have not been designed with end user in mind first. Blockchain great technology but how will the potential user experience be better from it? In many cases it’s much worse than database. In Steem’s case the benefits are censorship resistant, data is yours, no one can stop you from posting, monetized, community based, free micro payments.

But still lacking many features you’d expect in centralized systems.

Content overload is a big issue here hurting experience. Reddit would not be popular at all if all content hits one page.

That’s what Hive Communities where going to solve in Steem. Where is it?

Posted using Partiko iOS

It needs some form of new content or unique content and a different way to engage people.

@boxmining. This is a good question, I’m curious to view the responses.

I don’t know enough blockchain science to give a technical opinion but I think made a big mistake by leaving. I, for one, have never heard of Lino and I’m not interested.

Hey dude while I’m here.. I caught your interview with John McAfee about a week late. Sorry I didn’t get an upvote on it and I’m pretty frikkin shocked the community didn’t give it any love.

Question: What was the conversation like behind the scenes, the one where it was just you and your buddies and John was gone because that guy was all kinda partying and wouldn’t let you talk! lol.

It was funny because I did the interview right after Ivan, So i borrowed Ivan's Gear to do it. Ivan lent me the gear for free but John was like "WTF bro, you need to charge for that". Great summary of John's attitude to life.

This has been subject to a lot of scrutiny and disappointment from the Steem community as it seems as they always had the intention to leave Steem and took advantage of the platform to build a community and financial gains to fund their move to Lino without respect to the Steem community. While it was a promising service, it never truly was a blockchain solution so did not fall into the space creating a decentralized solution for content creators. I think others will fill its gap like @dtube and @vimmtv.

I think so too. I'm not sure about the relationship between Charles Wayn and Wilson Wei, but it feels like they planned something all along

hello @boxmining, I think Dlive, could not wait patiently for the changes that are happening in steemit. Although after the HF20 has not reached the price or the force that was promised; It does not mean that it will not arise. But if Dlive does not believe in Steemit, the best thing is for him to leave.

I agree with @calvol. If it goes away it is not necessary, the necessary one is the one that arrives.

What was suprising was that their CEO was intimately involved in creation of LINO and them raising 15M. I don't think steemit price would of mattered at all

Their leaving from steemit has no effect for our great community. Steemit is the best blockchain based social platform.

I never use dlive but i think steemit is a boss. Steemit don't care if anyone left from here.

Probably no steemian will Ever in invest in lino. They probably underestimate the importance of community trust steemit has.

@heimindanger complaint that dlive actually never had been real decentraliced.

They probably have a pump and dump mentality hopping from one project to another draining resources. I dont think lino wont be a big long term success. (If they dont kill twitch)

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess people are switching to dtube and other platforms now. I hope Lino can do well.

Posted using Partiko Android

I used dlive because of the stable hosting, and still use dlive to upload videos, because of the stable hosting. Uploading on dtube is nightmare for me, errors all the time and even if I manage to upload a video, its buffering and gone after few weeks.

I wrote extensively about their "complaint" and how it was just a half baked excuse to execute their plans.

They had planned this all along, and I got proof if you want to read.

https://steemit.com/dlive/@meno/an-objective-look-at-dlive-s-exit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50