Random Thoughts

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I didn't piss enough people off with my last post so I thought I would give it another try. Just kidding, that is not my intention but I am sure I will accomplish it anyway. So here goes -

Many Steemians are smarmy scammers. For over a month I participated in a Steem giveaway. The guy, who I won't name because I hate to see him scammed even more, gives away Steem for upvoting, commenting, and resteeming his podcast about crypto. An easy way to make Steem and hear another person's view on crypto. If you actually listened, like I did, you could make a related comment about the content. He went to the trouble to use his brain and his time to make podcasts so the least people could do is listen if they are going to take his money/Steem. When I fell behind listening, I did not upvote, comment with generic nothingness, or resteem in order to get my Steem and chance to win more just because I could. That would be tacky as hell, smarmy as shit, and in my opinion, disrespectful. I still listen when I can but I will not take his Steem out of respect for him. The information he provides is enough for me. The same goes for upvoting and resteeming for Superior Coins. I stopped using Kryptonia because (one reason of three) I upvote and resteem content I actually read and enjoy, not just for Steem and SUP. That does not make Steemit better than other social media, it makes it worse because you are engaging just for the easy money. I won't scan posts and upvote for tokens/coins unless I find value.

On another topic I have wondered about, how has Actifit not been sued out of existence? It is a smart media token awarded on Steem for using their fitness tracking app. I thought it was part of the established fitness tracking equipment manufacturer by the same name. The actifit app does not work on the fitness tracking equipment produced by the other company by the same name. Ummm, am I missing something? Maybe I will make a crypto banking smart media token and app named American Express.

While I am talking about the smart media token craze/wet dream of the bearded bacon beer breaths from yesterday's post, why the hell do we need more tokens which will be difficult to use, trade, spend? Isn't that the major problem with the mass adoption of the thousands of crypto tokens already? I even read an article on Steemit about how we need, and will have, tens of thousands of blockchain tokens in the future and everyone will rejoice. I understand getting caught up in the fad, but when the hell was the last time you heard somebody say they wish there were more steps and one hundred times more difficulty involved in the exchange of thousands of curriencies for goods and services? I know I never said it. I can see me running through sixty-five mobile wallets and thousands of tokens in order to buy a Dr Pepper and some Cheetos at Bubba's Cash and Carry. Maybe I need to grow a gay daddy beard and drink breakfast meat flavored ale to get how that is going to be soooo much better. Maybe I can join a Steemit circle jerk group on Discord - the social messaging app (the type of social platform quickly replacing Facebook/Twitter/etc) necessary to make it on the old style of social media platform, Steemit. Ummmm, again.

Until next time I piss you off...

Sort:  

Spam me next time you post so I know to upvote.

Yep, you see the low-life behavior all over the place. I just kind of brush it off generally, but was surprised how fired up I got when someone copy/pasted a bunch of my work onto his own page. It took me 24 hours to calm down and realize that I didn't make much off it, he certainly wasn't either, especially after being flagged. I'm rambling. My point is/was that yeah, people suck. But there are a few of us that actually read and do what we are supposed to. And I really like running into them. Hello fellow non-lowlife. Nice to meet you.

I would be furious as well! Plagiarism seems to be a problem on Steemit, along with using photos without permission. I see certain users with photos from archives and know they are not paying the fees for their usage - not when their posts only make $1 or so.

Welcome to Steemit. :-)

Congratulations @boboxer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @boboxer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88