IS STEEMIT A VIRTUAL NATION?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I was tooling around on my zero-turn mower the other day, lost in my thoughts and pondering on exactly what Steemit is and what it could be. I was considering the genius of marrying a social media platform with a cryptocurrency. I mulled the idea of being in community and the importance of building relationships with other members of Steemit.

In the cacophonous solitude of the engine roar I had an inspiring thought:

What if Steemit was more than just a new social media platform?

What if Steem was more than just another cryptocurrency?

What if Steemit was actually the beginning of a new nation, a virtual nation?

steemit nation.png


What is a virtual Nation, you may ask?


UrbanDictionary.com describes it as follows:

A group of people (citizenry) that have joined together under a common goal of achieving a better way of life, using a model of government more suited towards their common beliefs. This is usually done through the Internet; however, other methods of communication are possible if limited. The goals of these Virtual Nations can vary radically, but some level of group sovereignty is professed despite no physical territorial boundaries.” (1)


I would add to this definition that a Virtual Nation would be able to issue a sovereign currency to be used within its own economy. Also, a VN would be able to issue official identification for the purposes of transacting personal or business affairs with other sovereign nations.

I think that Steemit matches this definition. Let's run down it and double check, shall we?

  • Steemians are a group of people who have joined together. We’re not bots, fish, cats or snakes (though some of us might have more affinity for creatures than 2 their own legged mammals.)

  • Steemians have joined together under a common goal of achieving a better way of life. Whether that “way of life” is gaining knowledge, finding a little levity for our days, making money, or developing new friendships we all post to the blockchain or curate those that do.

  • Steemit has governance within itself through upvotes and flagging. This is carried out by whales, dolphins and minnows alike. I know there are governing codes and rules that the Steemit platform is built on and operates by as well.

  • Steemians communicate through the internet, yet are able to “meet up” when opportunities present themselves.

  • Steemians claim group sovereignty by transacting business in Steem, Steem Power, or Steem Backed Dollars.

  • *Steemians have unique hexadecimal identification that, when coupled with a photo or some other bio-metric verification criteria would be as secure of an ID as an ID can get. Because of the blockchain it could not be forged or duplicated.

I believe that having a common currency, on a common platform, with common goals is the beginning of a Virtual Nation.

My ponderous inspirations were confirmed just a few days later when I listened to The Survival Podcast, by Jack Spirko.

I’ve been an avid listener of Jack for quite a few years. In a recent episode (2) he discussed the concept of Virtual Nations. As he spoke I couldn’t help but think that what he was describing in theory was now being lived out in reality on the Steemit Blockchain. The very things I was contemplating were being fleshed out right before my ears. For those who have never heard of Jack Spirko, let me be the first to tell you that he has a brilliant mind and is a very persuasive communicator. He is able to see trends and understand concepts that are complex and he can explain them in easy to understand ways. I’d encourage all my fellow Steemians in checking The Survival Podcast out if they haven't done so already.

Do you concur? Is Steemit a Virtual Nation? What else does it require to become one? Should it become one? Inquiring minds want to know.

Let me know. Your comments and insights would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks for reading!

As always,

Bluer is better

Bluer is greener

Be Bluer than green.

1 Bluer.png

(1) http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Virtual%20Nation
(2) http://www.thesurvivalpodcast.com/new-look-at-virtual-nations

Sort:  

This is kind a what the Graphine family (Bitshares, Steemit, Peerplays, Sollywood TV, and many more) is about. But it's an Empire not a nation.

Hey @bluerthangreen, what a great thought experiment!
I love where these kinda things lead us. In our conventional "actual reality" where nations are based on physical territory, every time some people wanted to create their own nation, they had to take away part of an existing nation (since the whole world is divided up with nothing left over). Being virtual, that is not an issue any longer. And even in this conventional view having two or more nationalities is not uncommon. So I'm all for it! Let's bring out the Steem ID, and apply for UN recognition!

We are very close to achieving this. I think we still have a was to go before we have a full blown economy centered around Steem and SBD. So far most of the economy centers around exchanging our currency for fiat to by goods. Once we have a mature marketplace where we can transact in only Steem and SBD, then we will have arrived.

Wow, ya, the implications of not having to use fiat. Think if Steemit became an Amazon. You take your $STEEM order groceries or goods and they are delivered to your door or landing pad for the delivery drone. Everyday this whole blockchain world get's bigger and more exciting.

It's coming. Last year @dan posted this talking about how they plan to eventually offer a marketplace and other services for Steem.

I look forward to that day as I am an online retailer with eBay & Etsy shops. Will be so awesome to conduct business here on Steemit instead!

That was part of the original plan for Steem (see white paper or this post by @dan), to eventually have it's own marketplace like Amazon or eBay. In fact someone started a small marketplace last summer where you could buy and sell goods worldwide for only Steem. I haven't seen any posts about it for several months. I'm not sure if it survived the Steem price slump last fall.

Wow thanks for this information. I will go read the post now. Maybe now that the price of Steem is going back up the marketplace will become active again.

I can't wait for this. Imagine buying food and paying rent with steem :D T
hat's probably a hell of a long way off...

I Never Thought About This Website In That Way ! But Steemit Is A Great Social Experiment That I Am Happy To Be A Part Of ! Once A Week I Am Sharing Information About Steemit To My People On Twitter And Facebook Hoping They Will Try It Out !

Ok we can be a nation. But I'm running for mayor of the motorcycle hashtag! Steem on fellow citizens of er....New Steemia! Upvoted and follerd.

What an exciting concept! I had never read the definition of a virtual nation before. I agree with you that Steemit does indeed fit the bill. I am thrilled that I found Steemit and get to be part of a new historical trend and entity that has the earmarks to be a virtual nation. Thank you so much for sharing this valuable information and paradigm shifting concept.

We have a leadership, currency and voting rights. All you would need is to be recognized as a sovereign nation by the UN. In the US companies are people too so why couldn't a community based on a company become a country? They also have a world citizen passport. I feel a collaboration coming on

Who would have thought mowing the lawn could produce such interesting ideas?! Steemit as a virtual nation certainly seems like a real possibility, based on the definition provided. We live in exciting times, that's for sure. Upvoted and following!

obviously... the old ways are not working.. so new fresh thinking like this, blows my mind!! I am waiting for all the old dinosaurs to die off, so the world can finally start evolving into something better.

Brilliant thoughts. 💭

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51