Steem Powered Advertising Bot (h/t to @myfirst)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

Just read a great post from @myfirst about the need to get more advertising about Steemit out. I realized that a Steemit advertising guild could be created.

How it would work:

  • Send liquid Steem to advertising bot with amount and post to be advertised; bot automates the process of posting ads in various places depending on SEO score of the post.

  • Advertising bot guild would basically be a pool of spending fiat/BTC to pay for advertising in exchange for recently powered down Steem. Bot automatically powers up received Steem and upvotes user post in question as a partial value exchange for the service.

  • The bot would remain a fixture of Steemit and act as a 'powered service bot' that rewards interaction with external advertising and upvotes.

  • Upvotes in return would create a scarce market necessarily, so there could be bids for ads to be put out each day by it.

  • SBD can also be accepted to be burnt for more SP.

  • Amount of Steem sent determines amount of advertising purchased at a floating rate made available by the bot.

The goal:

Simultaneous external communication of articles on Steemit, add value to Steem tokens, grow the ecosystem.

Note: This post paid entirely in SP

Sort:  

Personally, I think I've cracked the ad issue.

  1. It won't affect logged-in members, only "visitors" who will be coming from google.
  2. Pages displayed to visitors will have ads
  3. Ads will be purchased with our own tokens (burned)

This is necessary because we are facing three factors

  1. Userbase increasing slowly
  2. Rewards not increasing
  3. Visitors from google, links in twitter and elsewhere etc etc, increasing more, as more content is put into the platform - perhaps faster than (1) and (2).

So if (3) scales faster than (2) and (1) then it can scale revenue by being attached to ads for visitors only while also breaking the closed-loop economy.

In the same time, logged-in members, do not see any ads, so the promise to keep it ad-free for the members is kept.

I honestly think you have something here. I guess it would depend on the kind of KPI's we're looking for, but it should be easy enough to track conversion this way

Great idea! I actually take all of my questions about Steemit to Google and get great results - just 23 hours old last time I tried it.

As an ad ops professional, id be down for something like this. I'm curious about what the ad space will look like on Steemit and have seen several conversations going on

At present, I want to say is how to solve user growth the problem , Sales market are very, very poor, They do not have the ability to market,I hope they will seriously look at my plan 1, bringing 200,000-50,0000 users, This is the only way to prevent the steem can continue to fall , Must be real buy steem power users growth, rather than increasing the account (More Invalid account)

I'm not sure Steemit needs to be pushed at this point... I think we want to get most of the kinks ironed out before we really push it. Get it the most user friendly for mom and pop as we can before we getting that kind of user... that way we have a much higher retention rate. As of right now we need to do something to help the people that are just signing up stick around... it is a pretty tough uphill slog for them currently to get to the point where they are making money...

Agreed (altho ads on pages non-members see is a good idea). But I have about 6 friends who signed up recently and they're not even allowed to post yet - one sent me the error message and i went over to his house .. not enough power. He thinks it's just a scam to get money from him so that he can post. I've given up on sharing the site with anybody for now until it's easy-peezy mom and pop friendly as you said.

Its a hard sell when you tell someone to sign up and then you tell them oh yea you have to invest some money to be able to post and btw the currency you are converting to falls by 10% just about every day...

This is what I've heard around the steemit as well, and it makes sense. I was able to get onboard because I have a higher than average ability with technology, but even then there were some issues. Once things are sailing smoothly and we crack the nut of retaining average users, then we can push for exodus from other places

Yes, I agree 100%. There is no reason to push it right now, once someone visits and gets turned off they may never come back... lets make sure we present the prettiest picture possible when we show it to the world :)

Yes agreed, thanks to you both for chiming in. I wanted t make sure it wasn't just me. I took the time to Google tutorials, but most won't. Also, the fact that I earned a few bucks fast off of my Introduce post really charged me up as to the potential here. But now that new users can't post right off as well, I don't feel right trying to get more new people in if all they see is money scam. That's just for now I realize, I'm a Steemvangelist otherwise and look forward to when Steemit says we're no longer in Beta. All of this will be addressed in time.

perhaps biggest part of advertising budget should be on facebook :-)

Concur. We can get VERY guerrilla with that campaign

Better to reach out to current bloggers who already have good reputation and content. Integrate those websites with quality API based plugins. Then the traffic will flow into steemit from people who already read that content. Create sign up and integration for these sights as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50