Indoor House Plants That Will Clean And Purify Your Air While You Steemit!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hello, today I would like to share a study conducted by NASA , that lists toxins and pollutants present in the air we breathe and how to remove them for good. We are accustomed to thinking that harmful, polluted air is present only outdoors, but you’ll be shocked at just how many toxic chemicals are present in our everyday household items. Because we spend so much time indoors as urban dwellers, it is essential we find ways to keep the air we breathe clean. NASA proved 18 common household plants that are the most efficient in filtering these toxins. Source

There are generally five toxins present in the air of a average home or office that effects our daily lives


In this article I have listed various facts and findings from my own personal research on this subject. The below list according to my research covers the most common household products that can pollute indoor air.

  • Ammonia – Found in fertilizers, scented bath salts, floor wax and window cleaners. Common symptoms include eye and throat irritation.
  • Benzene – Found in lost plastic, synthetic fibers, detergents, dyes, furniture wax, pesticides, rubber lubricants, tobacco smoke, vehicle exhaust fumes, adhesives, and most paints. Symptoms include eye irritation, headaches and dizziness, drowsiness, increase in heart rate, and can lead to unconsciousness.
  • Formaldehyde – Found in synthetic fibers, waxed papers, paper bags, tissues, napkins, paper towels, and plywood paneling. Symptoms include nose, mouth, and throat irritation, can also lead to lung and larynx swelling in some extreme cases.
  • Trichloroethylene – Present ink, lacquer thinners, varnishes, paints, paint removers and adhesives. Symptoms include headache, dizziness, nausea, vomiting, and can lead to coma in serious cases.
  • Xylene – Found in printed materials, leather, paint, tobacco smoke and vehicle exhaust. causes mouth and throat irritation, dizziness, headache, heart complications, and in extreme cases will cause kidney and liver damage or coma. Source

Now for the good news! According to NASA scientistsresearching ways to create suitable space station habitats ,there are a few common household plant's that we can use to purify the air in our homes. Listed below are 18 air-purifying plants you should keep in your home and the pollutants they clean out of the air. some indoor plants have been found to be more beneficial than others in removing harmful household toxins, some plants are even capable of removing up to 90% of toxic chemicals in only twenty-four hours! Source

  • Bamboo palm – formaldehyde and xylene
  • Barberton daisy – formaldehyde, trichloroethylene, and xylene
  • Boston fern – formaldehyde and xylene
  • Broadleaf lady palm – ammonia, formaldehyde, and xylene
  • Chinese evergreen – benzene and formaldehyde
  • Cornstalk dracanea – benzene, formaldehyde, and trichloroethylene
  • Devil’s ivy – benzene, formaldehyde, and xylene
  • Dwarf date palm – formaldehyde and xylene
  • English ivy – benzene, formaldehyde, trichloroethylene, and xylene
  • Flamingo lily – ammonia, formaldehyde, and xylene
  • Florist’s chrysanthemum – filters all five pollutants.
  • Kimberly queen fern – formaldehyde and xylene
  • Lilyturf – ammonia, trichloroethylene, and xylene
  • Peace lily – filters all five pollutants
  • Red-edged dracanea – benzene, formaldehyde, trichloroethylene, and xylene
  • Spider plant – formaldehyde and xylene
  • Varigated snake plant – benzene, formaldehyde, trichloroethylene, and xylene
  • Weeping fig – formaldehyde and xylene

I have also found published information in the Journal of American Society of Horticultural Science, further proving the science.


Image source: http://www.ccmoss.com

Thes plants listed above will also help remove ozone, the main component of air pollution, also known as smog is normally associated with outdoor air. However these harmful chemicals also infiltrate indoor environments like homes and offices, with people in industrialized countries spending as much of 80 percent to 90 percent of their time indoors.

Thanks for reading you may follow me @bitminter,

Cheerz

Sort:  

Very nice post @bitminter!
I totally agree that plants are making the air more clean.
We canot live without them in our lifes but many people forget this SMALL detail.
We are trying to evolve and touch the stars ....and many people are giving so many good ideeas.
...
Meanwhile in our Planet...forests are burned
...
Scientist think about teraforming planets and on ways to travel to other planets faster.
...
Meanwhile here pollution increases
Well my ideea on this matter is a simple one and is not needed to change or terraform a planet.
In Philip K. Dick's Total Recall he writes about making a dome that would function with recycled air.
But to this we can add inside the "dome" a small forest with all the plants, trees and animals too.
Because it is proven that inside a forest the air is more clean then outside of it and animals keep maintain the balance, not to forget about the bees who ensure the polenisation of plants.
So.. even that I wrote about sci fi litle bit , I am agreeing with you @bitminter that we need plants and that we will be dead without them.

Thank you for your comment, I feel a strong connection to plants and strongly believe they are literately the lungs of the planet.

This is excellent information @bitminter
While I love greenery in my house, I generally tend to kill all plants, but it's been a while since I've massacred anything so I'm ready for the next batch of victims...er...plants to filter my air.

@merrij99 Lol you always make me laugh! Grow cannabis it will survive almost anything you throw at it and believe it or not it is works great to filter the air I would know :-) Plus you can chew on it if you want, or make tea but I just smoke it. So much for me having clean filtered air lol!

The air I breath is clean I tell you, about 99% cannabis smoke and 1% clean air :p

I need to see if cannabis is legal in Florida. I actually have a cousin who lives in Kentucky who just got his state license to grow medical marijuana! Every time I've smoked weed I get paranoid and jumpy - but I shouldn't be surprised - I'm back-asswards with most things anyway :/
And that 99% cannabis smoke thing... I like my bitminter baked, not broiled. LOL

NASA is a 17 Billion Dollar annual Den of thieves that lies to the American people.

@rjsailer Lol, well that might be true however fortunately plant's don't lie :-)

I don't have many plants in my house. I have a brown thumb. I really need hearty plants that do not need a lot of care.

To my surprise I actually have one of the plants on your list, Peace Lilly. Little did I know it filtered all five pollutants from the air. Not that I deserve any credit for having the Peace Lilly, it was a gift from a friend.

Thank for the informative information. It was an interesting article!

Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60675.97
ETH 3383.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52