You are probably voting too often! Here is why! [Pro Tips]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I see people who are great Steemians but still lack their ability to control their Voting Power. One of the most important things to learn here is that you get back about 0.83% of your Voting Power each hour and each Vote you cast (at 100%) costs you 2% of your Voting Power.

How does Voting Power effect me?

Your voting power is the second most important thing to keep track of after your Steem Power! When you cast a vote it costs you 2% of your Voting Power. Every time you vote you have to wait almost 3 hours before your Voting Power for that single vote recharges!

A single vote at 100% Voting Power is worth 2x a single vote at 50% Voting Power, all things equal. I see people with over 1,000 SP and their Voting Power is less than 10%! They effectively have the same influence to earn here as someone with just 100 SP and 100% Voting Power!

Why should I wait to vote if my Voting Power is under 80%?

When your Voting Power drops below 80% you will require over a 24 hour period to have it fully recharge. No one wants to be sitting idle for over a day not able to up vote! The general rule of thumb is keep your power over 80% before logging out for the day so you return with near 100% the next day! Remember it is the quality and power of your votes that matter FAR more than how many you make!

How can I check and track my Voting Power?

The easiest way to keep on top is simply use steemd! Simplye replace my handle with yours: https://steemd.com/@bigdeej

I am under 80% Voting Power! What should I do?

Just relax, and stop voting until you are back at 90%! I know it will seem hard but once you develop a discipline you will view your votes as investments. Each vote has to be worth as much as possible and be placed into the best post/comment in order to earn the max return possible! Just be patient, even if you are under 10% it will only take 9 days to fully recharge!

Thanks for reading if you enjoyed please resteem, up vote (when you are over 82% Voting Power), follow me and comment below! Happy steeming fellow steemians!

Sort:  

Thank you for this nice, short, easy to understand post. Resteemed, upvoted and followed.

Glad it could help! You are managing your Voting Power well! Over 90%! Keep it up fellow Steemian and Steem on!

Thank you! I try. I got down to 40% when I first got here since I like everything I see, but now I hold back my liking finger :) It took me over a week to recover when I found out about this.

Yeah I make a list for my bot now to vote for me it manages my Voting Power and I just act as the "human aspect" curating real content for it to up vote! Make sure you start powering up as much as possible, now is a great time to buy Steem Power as it is nice and cheap!

i wish I could, but I have no extra money. Thanks for the tips. Very helpful!

Make all your rewards 100% to Powering Up!

I'm planning to send that money to my landlord maybe. I'm in Thailand and tiny amounts matter here. I have multiple streams of income, but this one is better than most right now :)

Another great post. Stuff that new people need to know about. Need to gather your post like this and make a How To for steemit!

Yeah in about a month we can start work on that! I'll recruit you on board phase 2 ;)

Godd, usefull, wise advice. I'm sure many newbies dont really realise how important all this is.
Upvoted, even i should not ( because i am @ <80%)
Steem it up !

You are looking about 86% Voting Power right now so you are managing yourself well! Thanks for the up vote you are a heavy hitter 28k SP! Very nice! Feel free to follow me back I would love to keep in contact here! I'm sure you know but in case you don't, you can track your stats here: https://steemd.com/@onealfa

Yes, sure i know. i am checking that STEEMD numerous times a day. Daily.

It becomes like a real live stock ticker doesn't it lol!

I'm guilty as charged on this one 🙊I'll be back to big up this post in a day or so, promise 😉

Glad to help! Rather get an up vote on day 6 at 100% Voting Power than 59.31% you currently are at! Keep track here: https://steemd.com/@steemmeupscotty

I hear you bro...I'll be back💪

It is SOO hard not to up vote now but in another 24 hours i'll be at 100% Voting Power and be hitting good posts/comments hard! Steem on!

Thanks.
Didn't know why i ran out of being able to vote in the last hour so I just gave up and thought it would be available in 24 hours.
Didn't know I just had to wait an hour until I was able to vote again on posts.

Did it for yours! ;D

You don't have to wait. Your votes just matter less and less until you let your Voting Power recharge. It recharges at a trickle of 0.83% per hour so you get back about 20% a day. Everytime you vote it costs you 2% of that Voting Power which makes your votes matter less and less. you currently are at 23% Voting Power and 5.4 SP which means your votes are worth the same as someone with nearly 1 SP at 100% Voting Power. Track here: https://steemd.com/@medevlo
Also make sure to read my article regarding powering up here as your account is very low on SP: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-are-you-powering-down-when-you-should-be-powering-up
and also this one: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-purchasing-steem-power-and-steem-dollars-matters-beginners-guide

from where i can check my voting power percentage???

You are looking good on Voting Power nearly 100%! You can keep track of it here: https://steemd.com/@rajag234
Be sure to follow me back and take a look at these articles to get you started!
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-are-you-powering-down-when-you-should-be-powering-up
and also this one: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-purchasing-steem-power-and-steem-dollars-matters-beginners-guide

thanks n followed

Learn and Earn together mate! ;)

This is great for newbies like me. Thanks for sharing

Glad to be of some help! Be sure to follow me as we grow the community I will be sure to keep you all up to date on the best tips and tricks! Learn to Earn!

Thanks for this insightful post. I have a question though, my upvotes from about 3 days ago worth $0. It used to be $0.01, what happenned to me?

Did you Power Down recently, I see you only have 17 SP but your Voting Power is near 100%? I would buy some Steem Power and Power Up while it is still cheap to do so! You can track your vitals here: https://steemd.com/@bigriches

This truly deserves my vote lol. Good info, im still learning here and have to devote some time still to do a good intro story.

Glad it can help! Be sure to limit your voting as you are at 42.62% right now! Keep track of your voting power here: https://steemd.com/@captainquack22
Be sure to follow me back and take a look at these articles to get you started!
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-are-you-powering-down-when-you-should-be-powering-up
and also this one: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-purchasing-steem-power-and-steem-dollars-matters-beginners-guide

thanks man, ive been surfing but holding back on the votes, ill look into your suggestions, and you definitely have my follow my good fellow

Once you have enough SP, then ypur upvotes get a slider. I prefer to vote lower-power and more often so that I spread it around more and encourage the other Steemians.

Yes It is around 500 SP right now then you can vote with less than the 100% of the 2% of your total outstanding voting power! Thanks for sharing! Followed you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67