Day 3 Of The 'Promote' Button Not Working - Is Steemit Inc. QA-Ing/Monitoring? Steemit Needs To Be Better About This

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It's day 3 after me having sent a direct tweet to the Steemit Inc. Team and having posted https://steemit.com/bug/@biddle/promote-button-broken-down, which is steps to replicate an issue with the 'Promote' Button. It is not working at all; this is a feature that many Steemians use and, more importantly, to not be responsive to issues like this gives the appearance of an unprofessional team. I love Steemit and I want to see it flourish, so it is important to hold the team to a high standard and do what you can to help them by reporting issues. Here, I've alerted them of the issue (to no response) and am doing my best to get the issue known as quickly as possible, if it isn't already known.

IF they are working on it already, I'm glad to hear it, but there is NO sign/communication that they are on the Steemit Twitter page (https://twitter.com/steemit), nor on the page of @ned. Communication is key for a development team if they are working to resolve an issue that they have found. If they are not finding issues, that is a scary sign that they aren't regularly QA-ing as a team. Can you imagine the amount of people that would be fired/reprimanded if a key feature of Facebook was down for 3 days? Obviously, Steemit is a MUCH MUCH smaller team, but they need to have a support section for Steemit, begin hiring a Support Team, and they need to be as responsive to issues as possible. To make Steemit the true revolution that we believe it is, it is important to be as seamless as possible and as stable a product as possible.

Please resteem this article or the https://steemit.com/bug/@biddle/promote-button-broken-down to get this noticed. If it is already noticed, @ned should let us know. If you have a direct communication line with @ned, please let him know of the issue. This should be resolved/communicated about as quickly as possible. If they can add the new UI changes (the search and post icons in the upper-right), they can QA key features. Steemit is great so let's help make it continue to be great! :)

AS ALWAYS, WISHES OF WEALTH AND HEALTH FOR ALL! :)

Sort:  

this is really an issue, but maybe it only affects other user and it is not an over all problems. though I haven't tried to ise the promote button for a long time.
I guess because we are talking about money here on steemit, technical team on this platform should be trust worthy before they become one. that must be the reason behind their inability to response fast. though this are only my opinion maybe I am wrong too.

Yeah, agreed! You can actually see the issue without actually trying to promote anything. If you go to an article from within the last 7 days and just click the 'promote' button, nothing will pop up. This has been confirmed by a number of people in my other article, who are getting the same behavior. If you are getting something else, please let me know, as that would be great information for the team to have in case, as you mention, it is user specific. :)

I tried it just now, you are right it is not functioning like it is just their for decoration. but upon checking the promoted posts I saw a promoted post just yesterday. I don't know how they do that if the promote button is not functioning. maybe some steemit app have a functioning promote button. I am not sure.

Good point; other apps could have it working (if it is the event handler on the button that is causing the issue, for example); additionally, I wonder if the mobile app promote button is working still (I don't currently have the app installed) and just the browser based one isn't.

hopefully you soon find the solution of your problem.

@ned 3 days with no response is kinda sad. Atleast acknowledge reception of the complaint

Yeah, agreed, and I wouldn't even mind if they completely ignored me and just communicated with the community as a whole that they are aware of the issue. Hopefully this is just a fluke and it will be resolved soon, but it is definitely concerning!

upvote and resteem.

The UI changes look so out of place and unnecessary. Hope they resolve the promote button issue soon enough

I don't like them either (maybe they'll grow on me though). It definitely through me for a loop this morning when I was looking for the 'post' button. haha

Thats tuff..but dont give and keep finding a solution.hope you will succeed..

Mine still doesnt work either.

You raised important concern and yes the promote button is not working and you said that you tried to communicate with the team but no response, this is feeling as an concern because when we find some issues then we expect at least an response if not an solution. Let hope that they will respond. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

I always miss the button like a plague, head it was no good when I first joined steemit

Really not working . I hope you will find the solution very soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69