Flags, Fiction on Steemit, and a Publishing House Dream

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

writing.jpg

I have deleted this article because I no longer believe in some things I used to. As we gain experience, we need to re-evaluate our past opinions and be willing to change them based on new experiences. I can no longer support some initiatives mentioned in the original article, so have deleted the content.

Sort:  

Beautifully written article that I agree with whole-heartedly. I fully intend to use your awesome publishing house when it gets off the ground. Very excited about this new project...

Bless :)

Great points well articulated. I am excited for the future of fiction and of Steemit. They can coexist and bring each other value.

I couldn't have said this better. I'm not here for the money. I'm here to write--to raise my voice.
And together we can roar.
Even if we always remain poor. ;-)
We'll always have our second family and our shared love of the written word.
Hugs

I like this opinion, keep raising that voice.

fiction is evergreen content and readers are always looking for content to consume. It's why a place like Amazon Kindle Store thrives

Seems to me like a flag from Transisto might be a rite of passage: "You have arrived."

I hope we can all continue to work through these issues until everyone has a solution they can live with. Stone me if you must, writers, but I happen to agree that a high payout on a post with few views taxes our internal economy greatly. I don't think flagging is the way to resolve it, although to be honest (and at Michelle's expense, which she didn't deserve) it certainly brought our attention to the problem. At the Writers' Block we're not just giving this lip service, either. There are some very real wheels turning to figure out how we can ameliorate this issue in our own group and contribute lasting value to the platform. There may even be a quantifiable financial analysis of this to publish soon. If it shows we bring value by being here, great! If it shows we're a drain or even just neutral buoyancy, what an incentive to course correct. And early in Steemit's development, too , so that by the time it hits the mainstream, we'll have these kinds of kinks worked out. @lukestokes is a rock star, by the way, in case folks weren't aware of that. . . .

Great opinion piece. Even if fiction writing alone isn't bringing in the big investors right now, diverse content will bring in the most people in the long run. There's plenty of other places to go for crypto news and bitcoin guesses.

A very clear, measured, and graciously expressed outlook on things. Thanks.

😄😇😄

@creatr

I am too new to Steemit and do not yet fully grock the way this ecosystem/economy works. I was most appreciated the time and effort others put into the crit of a piece I posted. The returns were meager but I enjoyed the process and believe there is something IN this thing called Steem, very similar to the first days of desktop publishing. I also believe The Writers Block will usher in new ways for writers to get their creations out there for others to read. The game is afoot.

I think you are doing a great job. And I believe that fiction is just as valuable as any other form of expression in this community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59239.80
ETH 2662.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48