The Steemit View CountersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

I like votes, bot votes or manually curated votes, they are all welcome and I appreciate them all. However, we now have a view counter and it is interesting that the proportion of views is often significantly lower than the number of votes. That got me thinking. In my own haste to help distribute Steem into the hands of as many people producing quality content as possible, I was forced to cut some corners when voting. If I had already liked an account's posts, i might upvote without reading the post, if the post was a piece of art or photo, i might not open the post to see it in all it's glory. There are many other examples.

Then I thought, yes people want votes, but they also want to know their material has been viewed and they want engagement even more than that. Perhaps views and engagement are more important or at least as important as votes and rewards to many people. Anyway, I decided to try harder to view much more of what I was voting for and I discovered something amazing. Rather than just open the post and close it, which may be suitable for art or photos, I couldn't help but to start reading more. I rediscovered the joy of learning knew and interesting information and the rewards of increasing my engagement.

View are incredibly valuable to a social media platform. If they are honest, then they are a powerful indicator of engagement, a moral booster for content creators, a powerful indicator of content value and a verification mechanism for feedback from the community. So, as there's something in it for everyone, I hope you will all try to find the time to view as much content as you can. I appreciate that time and priorities are a factor and that we can all only do our best at any given time. For me it's an adjustment to my perspective and an awareness that viewing is important to other Steemians and to me.


Happy Steeming

Sort:  

I viewed it, and I am interested in how things are going to change in steemit.

Great post, Tweeted, Tumblr, Gplus and Pinterest.
https://twitter.com/steemit/status/806919832855711744

steemit Steemit tweeted @ 08 Dec 2016 - 17:54 UTC

The Steemit View Counter @Steemit #SocialMedia #Blockchain #SteemMemes

steemit.com/steemit/@benjo… / https://t.co/KcBAwf2y1V
https://t.co/mUE6dR9siS

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Dang! I'm just glad that I accidentally opened up this post before voting on it.

When I first come on for the day, I go to Steemvoter and read back through the posts that it voted for in the night. I really do end up reading most of the posts that I vote for, but I'm retired and can spend the time to do that. This morning my voting power was at 100%, so I just quickly voted for a bunch of posts that I might want to read later,

That's perfectly understandable baerdric. There's so much going on it's dang hard to keep up :)

Truth indeed!
Thank you!
Resteem!

Not only viewed. Upvoted & followed! : )

Haha great post and point!

How about 51 votes and only two views?
I'm liking this reading posts idea!

Lol, the funny thing is 1 of your 2 views is yourself opening your post

Yes, one of the views was me, and the other was @sift666. Which means nobody outside this room had actually viewed it at the time he did that screen dump. Not that I am complaining about the other 49 votes - all contributions gratefully accepted.

Great lesson. I like it when people read my posts because I have taken time to think, organize and produce something readable. I read posts of interest to learn as well.
A few times I have made the "mistake" of upvoting just to make some $$ and then had a second thought, read the post and wanted to take my vote back but couldn't.
So like you said - we need to open a post to view it AND read it

Thank you for the comment. I'm really glad you agree. There is all sorts of interesting cultural evolution going on within the Steemit community and when changes occur, there is the chance our behaviours will too. Let's hope that more often than not, the change is an empowering one! I think the view counter qualifies! :) I thought you could change your vote....at least until the payout.

I'm not sure about taking a vote back, I haven't tried. I figured it was worth the lesson anyhow. Always learning on here. People are interesting and come in all kinds of different thought packages, that's for sure.

ha ha ......... I like it most

Yea.....I could have written anything. The little guy is adorable :)

Viewed

Lol. That's the spirit! Thank you

Hey, I read it too! I even see a grammar error!

THere is noting quiet like a grama eroor :)

ah yes, my apologies. I um, may need to work on my quality now there a danger my post may be actually read! ;)) thanks for the view!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61