You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Great Reputation System. That's What We Need.

in #steemit8 years ago

Please please follow number 5! https://steemit.com/secret-writer/@bendjmiller222/silencing-the-troll-earnest-disrespecting-stellabelle-exposetrolls I tried to silence a troll and have little traction due to my small audience. Keeping people responsible for their content and posts should have a feedback system to prevent abuse. Reputation should be taken very seriously. While I feel any user should have a voice, if enough users flag another who is damaging the experience of others, they should be limited in the amount of comments and posts they can make. And should have a review to see if they have changed their ways. I like your innovative thinking. Something similar to a eBay feedback system where great comments and posts by certain people should be allowed to be more visible.

Sort:  

Yes it would be good to start a post to give a bit more exposure to incivility. Instead of a Wall of Shame, perhaps we can start with something softer like a Community Public Service Announcement or Community Exposure Board to give people warnings and highlight bad behavior.. a lot of new people might not know what is acceptable so we should give fair warning and let people correct their behavior.

That is true, but it is not too hard to spot those who blatantly attempt to troll. Trolls need to be put in their place in my opinion, but new users should be given latitude :) But everything should be viewable by the community and have a vote system to reinstate people who have changed their ways.

I saw @earnest get censored by cheetah in one of my posts and almost quit this site on the spot. What you see as trolling, I and many others see as someone just speaking their mind and having a dissenting opinion. If you're going to try to turn this platform into a sjw "safe space", you will degrade this site significantly. Censorship sucks. The curation features don't work because everyone just jumps on posts whales vote on without even reading them and very few have the power to do anything other than post comments calling people on their BS. If you want a censored safe space, please go back to reddit.

@apocaloptimisto It has to do with incentives. As long as we have moderators who are able to censor, then they can control what we see. Minnow power isn't enough to counter a single moderator's decision and good luck getting our mods to change their minds on what is and is not fair game.
Even @anyx has said he doesn't feel like he's trying to be a good guy. He's just doing what he wants and if others agree then they will vote his way. But then of course there's loud complaints about downvotes when that happens too.

I vote that we stop using the term whale all together and start using the term moderator. They have paid for the privilege and we have agreed to those rules. So we need to respect the moderators decisions on what is and is not appropriate and fair, or we need to go somewhere else.
Right now the mods like their censorship. It's their investment, let them censor it all they want or petition the devs to change it so we have a voice based on something other than the money we are able to accumulate.

This site just lost a green tech inventing anarchist. I can't put up with the stupidity any longer. Best of luck with it.

I have no problem with a lot of what @earnest has to say, but being disrespectful and showing something unwarranted are what I would consider trolling. He does a great job researching and trying to find people gaming the system, but when he crosses the line he goes into troll land and I thoroughly dislike it. I know I am not alone in this opinion. Many people simply refuse to engage anymore with him. It's a shame because I do enjoy some of his posts and dedication. I don't hate him but I hope putting him on blast for what he did made him think. And I absolutely loathe Reddit. It has nothing of any quality or incentive for people to make heartfelt content (in general) and I dislike the feel of the entire site there. I upvoted your comment as I find it valid. I'm happy to have conversations without accusations. While earnest is often right, his confrontational demeanor is not winning as many friends as it could. I'd be happy to work with him if he wished

Ok, lets work together,
what do you propose?

I think you do have a knack for exposing people that are gaining the system. You were able to view the pieces on the blockchain and out fakers and plagiarism. (I truly was not trying to promote @stellabelle for my own personal gain) I also try to promote @rok-sivante who I think posts incredible work, like the one open letter to the hacker, and how his mindset changed from wanting to keep everything for himself, to sharing with others. I'm happy to support you, and I appreciate you calling me out because you thought I was lying. Maybe you could do some posts about who is cheating/not real with proof and the community will back you up, because hopefully we all want to promote good content or else there wouldn't be much a future for steemit. If you have ideas I would be happy to work with you and will remove the post about trolling as a sign of good faith. I would ask that maybe if you could tone down some of the comments (I'm not trying to censor you, but I'd hate to see your work unappreciated because people may have been offered in the past) totally up to you. Open to any ideas as I think collaborating can only further benefit steemit on output journey to become larger fish in this sea.(unable to remove the post I did earlier, but will gladly tell others we resolved everything if asked)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64