Silencing The Troll! Exposing @earnest for his disrespect to @stellabelle and others

in #secret-writer8 years ago (edited)

49841096b08f7.jpg

I can handle criticism and trolling directed at me, but I draw the line when the troll goes on to disrespect others.

This conversation between @earnest and i ( @bendjmiller222 ) really made me realize that we don't need to sit in silence and let trolls run rampant or show them hate

Untitled1228d4e0.jpg

And this is true I am the secret writer. However that was long ago and I am not receiving further benefits. So that is not a lie She offers a service for those to share who wish to remain anonymous. I have the balls to tell you to your computer that that was 100% true

Untitled12345f3ef3.jpg

The full comment section can be read here https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@steemgirl/meet-the-steemitgirl#@bendjmiller222/re-earnest-re-bendjmiller222-re-steemgirl-meet-the-steemitgirl-20160731t164426212z

While he is trying to silence a potential fake account, he has become of less value to this community than the potential fake account holder. At the very least, the author of this post has been respectful and I actually am alright if they are not really who they say they are. This is dishonest, but I would value that over a malicious person any day.

A few things are always going to happen on social media:

1.) Trolls will exist
2.)They gain pleasure out of getting an outraged reaction
3.)They continue past the point they would ever go to in real life, because they can hide behind their computer screen

As a user on Steemit we have the ability to do the following:

1.) Downvote trolls
2.) Expose trolls using the hashtag #expose trolls
3.) Keep trolls from making money and rendering them invisible
4.) Winning the battle against trolls

If someone has belittled you or said hateful things to you, I would encourage you to expose this user to the community using #exposetrolls While they will always exist, seeing them make no money while those around them do is it's own reward.

I hope the community will surround me in this. Trolling is not disagreeing with someone and backing it up respectfully, or making an opposing viewpoint. Trolls make themself visible and hurt the user experience we have tried to make here. Reputation is everything here and what you post reflects on you whether positively or negatively.

Hope to continue to make Steemit a place where all can feel welcome regardless of race, sex, religion, color or national origin. We have something special here. I'd like to keep it that way.

#rok-sivante

Sort:  

"However that was long ago and I am not receiving further benefits."
So, you are lying again, because that @stellabelle 's "secret writer" post
http://steemit.com/secret-writer/@stellabelle/secret-writer-the-time-i-wanted-to-kill-my-parents
has a pending payout round in 3 weeks.

of which she will be keeping all the rewards :) So I benefit how?

You are clearly being dishonest, you made 300 dollars less than a week ago from material
posted in her account, and you are likely to keep writing these stories and marketing them via that channel (unless you are stupid), so you have and most likely will benefit from herding viewers to that account. I dont know who you are trying to fool here. I just fucking got you. Accept it and move on.

I made three hundred dollars yes posting my own story. And after that paid out I continued to support her. I am not going to continue posting there making things up to get money. I have appreciated her hard work and for being the first to welcome me to the community. Yeah you can look back all the way to the beginning and see she was one of the first people I corresponded with. DO YOU NOT REALIZE THAT I HAVE ALREADY RECEIVED MY $300? the only way I could earn more money on that would be to post a link from a story I submitted directly to hat and hope people upvote it. I have benefited and will continue to support her. You have the same ability to e-mail her content if you wanted, although I'm sure it won't see the light of day now. If that is "getting me" then consider me gotten. I'll leave you with this. How do you stop a troll from trolling? Stop paying attention. Any further posts you make will simply increase the visibility of this post. So I encourage you to continue posting as much as your heart desires. Good day to you Mr/Mrs @earnest

I rest my case. You have a great day too Mr. Miller.

What a surprise that every post I can see that hasn't automatically been hidden by low reputations are all on my list of muted users!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@l0k1/petition-for-the-mute-button-to-actually-hide-posts-from-muted-users

Please join me in this campaign, and promote this to your associates who agree with this. It is sorely needed. The implementation of the mute function is insulting to the very definition of the word. Mute means silent, not quieter. Quieter also can become more noticable.

The most effective remedy for trolls is ignoring them. We have these goddamned programmable computers, why can we not make these trolls disappear entirely from our feeds, and all of the comments that go underneath their posts?

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.2 and reading ease of 69%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36