Adding Whales Minnows and Dolphins Next to Usernames

in #steemit8 years ago

Just an idea to add value to the site without investing too much money. Hopefully a few people can get behind me on this and push it in front of some of the developers who are able to make changes. I think it would be fun to implement a feedback system that awards different ocean fish at different levels of steem power. The numbers can be decided upon but you would start as a minnow and could change colors until you reached another level of fish. I think the fish correlation has become widely adopted and accepted and would make it fun to see who is voting for posts instead of clicking on wallets. I may only speak for myself, but maybe there are others who would strive to create great content to level up or attain a new color or species. 

Another feature that definitely needs to be implemented is some sort of profile page. It doesn't have to be much, just a few details about yourself and your interests and photo. Digging through peoples posts to find their #introduceyourself post takes a bit of time for those who post often.

Anyways I think that would add some extra value to the system and I know at least on steemd.com there is a section under distribution already labeled with some of the levels so hopefully this wouldn't be too difficult to implement.

Maybe other people have better ideas, but those were two features I thought should be brought up or addressed. As it is somewhat difficult to find older posts, I will gladly update with a link to your post of similar content so others can compare and to give you credit for your work.

Good day to you all! 

Sort:  

Lol nice!

But I still don't know what's considered a dolphin and a whale.. Is there a certain STEEM Power level?

I just did a video talking about this kind of.. check it out and please let me know what you think :D

https://steemit.com/new/@stealthtrader/steemit-vlog-2

Good vlog. I agree that too many people are trying to post things too quickly so the quality of content has gone down a bit. But yes for those who are frustrated with postings that don't earn much compared to the effort you put into it, you need to take a little time to establish yourself and get people interested in content you put out. Thoughtful real comments that aren't kiss ass vote-me-up type comments can really benefit a new user. You might not earn thousands, but you will add value to the site. Can't think of another site where most comments are not created by trolls. So far I have enjoyed conversing with 95% of people that I actually take the time to comment on because they have put something of value out there.

I don't think there are specific numbers that indicate whale or dolphin, but from a dollar amount I'd say those who have invested or achieved legend or superhero status in the chart above would be whales, and 8,000 dollars to 79,999 dollars would be dolphins and sub groups below that.

I think little nutsack, medium size nutsack, and large nutsack would be awesome! #cornwins challenge!

Great way to show graphic representation of voting powers.

I love this idea! I think it would be fun to have various "plugins" which could be added by individual users, according to their preferences. That way we don't need a full fork of the codebase for cool little ideas like this. Might also be cool to see people powering down or maybe total post count or average post count, etc. Maybe as mouse-over popups as well, like a little score card for the user instead of just the "Follow" / "Unfollow" buttons we see now.

Exactly! I don't really have the reach to make a big splash by posting, but feel free to take the idea and run with it, as I see it being very valuable to steemit.

I think you have a knack for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52