You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your 2 Cent Vote is Worthless, The Real Deal on Dust Votes

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hi, thank you kindly for the mention. :) Lynn mentioned to me that you would be writing a post on this too.

I'm happy to see that others are also sharing this knowledge. A lot of newbies don't realize their upvotes are going to dust. I have received comments stating that a 0.01 upvote on a comment will add up if someone else upvotes after them. Yes, the compounded value does count if it makes it past the 0.02 dust threshold.

My thoughts are, realistically, who would be kind enough to come behind and give that extra "push" on a comment to turn the 0.01 into a 0.02/0.03 worth? Many small fishes want to show the supporters that stop by their post an upvote, more as a thank you gesture. There are not too many individuals with SP that will visit a newbie's post and give that "extra" push to make their upvote count. I know many of us in the #newbieresteeemday community will show our help and support, but it does drain our VP too. Speaking for myself, that's a 30% VP usage. I try to encourage newbies to upvote a post instead or if they do want to upvote a comment, do so ONLY if they want the comment to go to the top so others can see the helpful comment. If I see a 0.01 upvote, I will add my own to make it past the dust threshold. There are not too many that will take that action.

It is important that we continue to spread awareness on the 0.02 dust threshold so users are knowledgeable and could use their upvotes wisely. I would recommend users not yet reaching that magical 0.02 dust threshold (0.03 to be safe) to use their VP on posts so there is a possibility of earning curation rewards. This way they could grow their account at the same time while still supporting their favorite authors.

Your post is encouraging the same behavior, we agree! :)

Sort:  

I had pushed a bunch of comments up to .02 after @timcliff's post and then noticed that the .02 didn't payout. So that is when I started doing some tests which lead to this post. Was really thinking it was just the weaker 0.02 displayed value comments that weren't paying out, but after testing as high as I could vote without hitting .03 and they didn't pay out I've decided that .03 is the current cut off.

Either way smaller members shouldn't waste their votes IMO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84