A Short Little Steemit Guide for my Facebook Friends

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


I've been sharing my Steemit post on Facebook for about a week and I've had a few questions from my friends that I'll try to answer here.

I'm still very new to the platform and as we in the Steemian world say, " just a lowly minnow". I'm still learning.

I first discovered Steemit by researching alternative crypto currencies. I truly believe the blockchain is the technology of the future and worthy of my time and possible investment. Think of it like the internet, when it was still a way to send email only. That's where the blockchain technology is today.

I was browsing CoinMarketCap.com and came across STEEM. It was one of the top 30 crypto currencies at the time. I read their white paper and was fascinated by the business model, a decentralized social media platform that pays worthy contributors to it's community???

If you would like to learn about the community that pays you to Blog and pays you to curate (vote) on worthy content, you might want to read through the Steemit FAQ that I will Post below.

What is Steemit?

I liked the concept, so I signed up in January but didn't do anything with my account until I investigated further.

When I want to know about a thing I always look for good content on YouTube. I found hundreds of videos on the subject of STEEM and Steemit. I waded through lots of less than expert videos and picked out the top three people that I liked, there are many more worthy videos out there, but these are my favorites.

Jerry Banfield

My number one videographer is Jerry Banfield, he is what is considered on Steemit as a Whale or one of the top earners. His energetic approach to teaching others how to succeed on the platform is unprecedented. I can sum him up in one word, genuine.

Joe Parys

Number two on my list of people to watch is Joe Parys. He is a personal friend of Jerry's and his how to videos are well made and very informative. His easy conversational style makes the harder concepts of learning about the Steemit platform easy to understand. He has a video course you can buy, but he gives away so much free information in his other videos I'm afraid he's going to put himself out of business! He's a great guy and his success on Steemit is assured.

Brandon Frye

My Number three pick is Brandon Frye. This guy is a relative newcomer to Steemit and has tons of videos on YouTube that are not related, but if you search his channel you can find the ones about Steemit. They are quality videos, well researched, and well presented. I like the guy.

Steemit has also launched a new video platform called Dtube which will directly compete with YouTube. The content providers are rewarded by the viewers when they bring value to the community. You can read more about that in the post below.

DTube

The bottom line:

  • It's free to join,

  • You don't have to post anything, but this is a platform to show your talent to the world. Photography, travel, art, there are endless post from very talented people. I saw a series of post that a guy did that were chapters from a book he had written. He wasn't having any luck selling it online but it got him a loyal following on Steemit.

  • You can browse the tag lines for topics that interest you. If you can't find what you are looking for, type Steemit.com/created/(your interest here) in the URL line then enter. Chances are you will find your niche.

  • You are allocated Steem when you join to get you started, no charge to you.

  • You can earn Steem from upvoting content you deem worthy.

  • There are other ways to earn Steem as you grow your Steem wealth, but I'll let you discover those.

  • Everything is decentralized and open to the public, there are no secrets here. If you would like to know how someone is doing just type in Steemit.com/@username and go to their wallet and see. Everything they have done is listed there as well as the value of their account, which reflects their contribution to the community. It's there for all to see. Try it with my user name. I'll make it easy for you click on it @beekerst or try @jerrybanfield. Look at his wallet! He's been here less than a year, May of 2017......IS THAT IMPRESSIVE????

Sign up today! Thank me later!

And CARRY ON!



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43