What would steemit look like without ANY bots?

in #steemit7 years ago

BC975EC3-84D1-4339-8EA0-A8D7089114AF.jpeg

When I arrived onto steemit in May, I didn’t know anything about anything. Let’s just say I took my time discovering this new bizarre playground.

I made a post, and suddenly within seconds I got over 50 upvotes. I turned to my wife excitedly and said over 70 people liked my blog! I’m going to be on the trending page! I’m appreciated! Well, it didn’t make it onto trending, and all those votes
turned into 0.20 cents?!

Well to my surprise, I found out all those votes came from one account. My excitement turned into more of a sour feeling. I actually felt a little let down! I got excited over nothing..

I know I am currently on some great steemian’s upvote bots. It’s appreciated, but at the same time, do my friendly upvote bot followers even like what I have to say? Do they not have to read my crap anymore? Not to bite the “hand” that feeds me, but I’m kinda feeling like I’m getting love from a doll. It looks good, but is it the same as the real thing?

3A4E66FA-6BDF-4A50-A400-04D00D8E78E9.jpeg

It would be tempting to just post utter shit to find out. However, that’s not me. I’m sure I’ll get flagged eventually as well. We as steemians should respect that this place is not meant for spam. Sure we all take advantage of good situations, but I would rather post something of value.

I am trying to envision steemit without the bots. I am assuming they didn’t exist at some point. Was steemit more of what it was supposed to be? Or is it supposed to be like this in the present. I am seriously wondering if we move out of the beta stage without bots. I’m sure my blog will go down in value as I really don’t know if my followers will manually curate. I guess we will have to just find out. I am excited that we are still in beta. I am really hoping the finished product is something spectacular.

EBD1FF8A-65C6-42D7-989B-E6C1723C0347.jpeg

44C5F347-6939-46B1-933A-AD3527D09183.jpeg

Sort:  

Good post. I now have 1000 followers and few upvote my posts. When people first join, they have no clue about voting power, bots, and so on.

So I cleaned out the folks I follow to get to the good content and upvote those who deserve it. But it is a LONELY life on STEEMIT.

I'm thinking about pausing for a while and maybe powering down and holding my STEEM until the price pops to $1.5.

Well, why bother powering down? I did for a little bit and gambled in the exchanges. I lost more than I gained. I figured it was better to invest into the platform and raise my Steem Power. If Steem is my avenue in the crypto world, and I mine it with my brain / posting then it’s worth it.

Steemit bots are a double-edged sword - on the one hand, they guarantee a little bit of income, and allow those without the time for manual curation to provide rewards to those they appreciate.

On the other hand, they drain the reward pool, and often do vote on shit-posts, or on the posts of Steemit 1%ers to increase curation rewards,, alos draining reward pool and skewing the payouts in favour of those who have established rep.

I would be keen to see another 'experiment' where bot voting is banned for a month or so. I have a feeling high quality content would rise to the top if people actually read stuff.

The amount of votes a post gets or the amount of follower a person have are bullshit metrics for me - the only thing that counts is post views.

That would be a very interesting experiment. It wouldn't eliminate the circle jerk pattern of whales upvoting each other, but at least it wont be on autopilot ;)

I think Steemit should put more effort into developing a true 'attention economy'. Bots add no value to this kind of economy, as they cannot pay attention. A compromise would be to give significantly more weight to 'real' votes, which should be possible to do with some algorithmic tweaks.

I know I am currently on some great steemian’s upvote bots. It’s appreciated, but at the same time, do my friendly upvote bot followers even like what I have to say? Do they not have to read my crap anymore?

I read your crap...

Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 11.32.24 AM.png

Good thinking, I saw that you work without bot. Like your writing ...

It is a great post!

I'm concerned about this too, tbh :(

I have the same problem.

I'd say it'd take people year to reach higher reputation. And also to get noticed.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

This post has received a 37.50 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @bearbear613. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81