How has steemit improved my inner self?

in #steemit7 years ago

There is an interesting contest from @lexikon082 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lexikon082/win-usd20-sbd-how-has-steemit-improved-your-inner-self-week-1-winner-announced-closes-july-11th

"To  qualify, write a STORY POST of at least 300 words, leave the link in  the reply section, and upvote the post. The winner receives $20 SBD."

I was thinking what an interesting contest this was, as I have never blogged before. I thought to myself has steemit really changed my inner self? So the answer in actuality is YES!

I started using steemit about 3 months ago, and I haven't look back. I noticed that everyday I am contemplating what I can share.  My motives are no longer focused on what will make the big money; although I did start trying this site with that in mind. I don't think my inner core has been changed, but I do feel an extra sense of freedom. I used to use facebook nearly every day. I now never post my inner feelings or thoughts on facebook. Sometimes I would even lose "friends" as I wasn't sharing what THEY liked, or they didn't like my opinion on a certain subject. 

When I see a facebook group dedicated to "parking idiots", I thought to myself; this is not a post that would fly on steemit. In fact I rolled my eyes as that group was dedicated to "public shaming" of individuals who will probably never even see those posts. I thought to myself; what a fools errand. Why post my private photos, opinions, when the reward for doing so is a simple "like" or even "unfriend". 

I noticed people weren't so interested anyways in what I had to say, even though I knew them personally. So where is the difference within myself? Well basically I feel good that I can finally express what I feel without real fear of repercussion. I have written extensively here about what bothers me about the world, what makes me laugh, and what my hobbies might include. Some of my thoughts or beliefs might even be challenged by some of the things I have read by other bloggers on the site. Since the rewards are real, we have to be more mindful and careful about how we approach certain sensitive subjects. I have to be sensitive to the strangers who read what I have to say. Although there is a certain amount of freedom, we do need to keep others in mind. That is a dance that requires concentration! Steemit has also increased my appreciation for people in general. There have been multiple charity driven projects over steemit. It's very inspiring to know that people can create a community and offer to give of themselves. Yes, we often give charity in the real world; but it's for some organization where someone makes a salary of $100,000 or more. Charity here goes  directly to community members.

So the point of this  post is not to win the "contest", but to reflect upon what REALLY has changed within me. The answer again, is that nothing has really changed within me. The only thing that changed is that I have an avenue to really see what people think about what I have to say. I also get to see a diverse range of individuals who come from a myriad of  different cultures and ethnicity. In a self regulating community of people from around the world, it's nice to know we really aren't different even without a steemit policing group. Perhaps I am being a little idealistic, but generally the community has self regulated nicely without "big brother". Yes I see the odd downvote or dramatic spats, but that is to be expected anywhere. 

An upvote on a deeply personal story or subject means a lot more to me than a "like" from facebook. People are literally tipping me for what I wish to reflect on an open forum. If they liked what I read; it's a complete stranger showing me they appreciate what I have to say. Of course there are many other blog sites, but because this is my first I don't think I would ever try something else. 

I doubt I will win the contest, but even if I did; I got to share with you all what I REALLY think. Perhaps it's taken with a grain of salt, or even "liked".  Every upvote makes me feel great about myself and the members who care.

With that being said,

Thanks Steemit

BB613


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. It is great to be in a community where your opinions are valued and people even sometimes respectfully challenge(for the most part) other's opinions on subjects, beliefs, morals. Responding/digesting people's opinions contrary to yours is a great way to grow as a person.

Also, remember I am not judging these entries as the posts are subjective. I don't believe it would be rightly fair to judge who's change is greater or better than the next. The winner is chosen at random.

It's a great idea, and you are giving back to the community in a good way. You are promoting growth and self reflection. A++ ony your part. Followed you based upon substance.

Wow, thanks for the follow and great reply.

Do help vote my post and kindly follow back. I'm new on steemit, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47