You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Suggestion For Ending The Vote Buying Era On Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago

Kudos for raising this issue and your solution proposal. The analogy between Steemit governance and the real world governance is to the point. I had that analogy too.

Unfortunately, what you're proposing here is already being done on Steemit by several accounts and they can't deal with the abuse on Steemit.

As long as there is $65 Million USD of investor money distributed in a year, people will find ways of getting a share of that. There's no way around that.

The only solution to this problem is to eliminate the reward money altogether and let the users decide which content they want to tip with their own money and how much.

I explained the details of this solution in a blog post called How to Solve the Reward Pool Abuse Problem Once and For All and the solution is being discussed in the comments section by other Steemians.

Everybody's opinions are welcome on this solution proposal. Let's get together to eliminate the abuse on Steemit before it is too late.

Sort:  

I think getting rid of the rewards structure is definitely one way of ridding ourselves of the abuse that the platform is becoming known for but not one that would find much support from those influential members of our community that you mentioned who have a lot of money invested and are making a lot more besides from that investment.

I've just upvoted your comment and rewarded you with 13 cents. we both know that's worth about 5 times more atm in usd so about 65 cents. I know I couldn't afford to tip you 13 cents let alone 65 myself so while I like the idea in theory, I'm not sure how it would work given the users we have at the moment where few are wealthy enough to take advantage of the getting while the getting is good and most are using it as a means of survival rather than a luxury.

Thanks for the great comment mate. I also had a look at some of your other posts and you seem to really care about the platform, which I appreciate. :)

Have a great day @bbilgin.

I think getting rid of the rewards structure is definitely one way of ridding ourselves of the abuse that the platform is becoming known for but not one that would find much support from those influential members of our community that you mentioned who have a lot of money invested and are making a lot more besides from that investment.

There are two types of Steem investors, the abusers and the abused. This doesn't have anything to do with the account size either, because it's easier for the small accounts to abuse the system and the ROI is the same.

It's a matter of time that the abused realize that they are getting abused or the whole system collapses because there is no more inflow of money. This is what happens to systems like this all the time.

The big accounts are either going to realize that and switch to a sustainable business model, or they are going to loose their capital when the crash happens.

I've just upvoted your comment and rewarded you with 13 cents. we both know that's worth about 5 times more atm in usd so about 65 cents.

Thank you for the upvote! I appreciate it.

I know I couldn't afford to tip you 13 cents let alone 65 myself so while I like the idea in theory, I'm not sure how it would work given the users we have at the moment where few are wealthy enough to take advantage of the getting while the getting is good and most are using it as a means of survival rather than a luxury.

There will be two options: tip a post/comment and/or tip an author. If you think someone is a valuable person for the Steemit ecosystem, they add value to the Steemit ecosystem, and as a result, they add value to your Steem investment, does it not make sense to tip them to keep them involved in this platform?

As a Steem/SteemPower investor, you're paying 6.5% of your investment in a year to authors and curators (including yourself) in the current system already. In the new system, you're going to decide on the percentage and to the people and posts.

Thanks for the great comment mate. I also had a look at some of your other posts and you seem to really care about the platform, which I appreciate. :)

Have a great day @bbilgin.

You're welcome, @tonyr! I appreciate it. It's my pleasure. I really like this platform and looking forward for its success!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42