You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's going on with Steemit?

in #steemit4 years ago

The only reason we are now discussing changes to the voting system for witness is because someone took control of a bigger stake.

Even if control is re-taken, both you and I know nothing will change in that regard. The re-vote for witnesses would hurt the current witnesses, they stay in power via the dead account votes they have. I hope control is re-taken by the community, I also hope when it is all over and done with that people will look back and re-select witnesses. Human nature being what it is though, that is unlikely to happen.

Sort:  

I think there is no choice but to change the witness voting. The chain will never be secure unless that is done.

Like you said, lots of us have seen that, lots of us have talked about that, and lots of witnesses have balked at that. I honestly do not see it changing, if they are able to regain control it still wont happen, they will just say "see our current system worked just fine".

They will have no choice but to change things, they will get no support next time if they do not make the change. And it will happen again now others have seen it is possible. Some of the witness at the top no longer need Freedom and pumkin votes too. they will not mind the change as they can still remain high up the ranks, Things are changing.

I really hope they are changing, I do know that when the dust does settle I will likely rethink my witness vote thing, but for now I will still go with my proxy vote to Asher, and see where the chips and dust fall when this is over. I will not continue to support afterward any witness that does not indicate a desire at the minimum to correct the witness issue. I know the witnesses won't care if they lose my minuscule vote, but some new witness may appreciate it.
!ENGAGE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38