You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Favorite Writing Topic? Speculative Fiction

in #steemit6 years ago

Looks like I have more things to read. I often get caught up in greeting and trying to make new users comfortable on the platform, that I often overlook those who I share a backyard with. I love speculative fiction, and have been a reader my entire life, from the moment I learned how to read, (I was a late bloomer when it came to learning to read). I need to explore more of the pages of more of the people whose comments and occasional by catch post (like this one), I have a tendency to miss. I think you will be seeing more of me on some of your contents.

Sort:  

The more the merrier. :)

What you're doing is important, though, but if you're able to strike the balance, go for it. Otherwise, the newcomers need as much attention and direction as they can get. Especially the good variety.

There's always a ton of content we're all missing, no matter what we're trying to accomplish here. I'm amazed at how I'll come across stuff that's over 7 days old and wished I'd been able to reward it still. So, anyway, I'm glad you're finding something of value with what I'm writing, and I'll look forward to you popping in when you can.

I got reading before I went to kindergarten via reading my Dad's newspapers. Then I wanted to be a journalist when I got into elementary school (that switched to an author soon after that). So, ended up owning and publishing two smalltown weekly newspapers for a total of 15 years, and have self-published the two kindle books. Go figure. :)

Reading is an essential ability for any writer, so I've done as much as I can whenever I can, too.

I didn't really learn to read until I was about 7 years old, since then, no stopping me. I would rather read than watch Gilligan's Island.

Well, it obviously doesn't matter when we start. It only matters that we do learn, and then all kinds of worlds are opened up to us, both imagined and real. Reading, writing, and learning a second language have been the most helpful things I've learned in my life. Everything else I learned in school or earned a degree in has been secondary when it comes to income. And since I didn't become a doctor or an engineer or become a tradesman of some kind, I'd think I could have skipped everything else and started my attempt at a writing career much earlier.

Naaaah. It's okay I learned math and got to read some history, current events and do some science projects. I just wouldn't want to go back and do it again. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84