Steemit Needs: Please comment with your ideas to improve Steemit!! E. 3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago


Hi again everyone! I am keeping my word to keep the series going! It's now many weeks after the big changes, the Steem Powering down en masse started and some cashouts for that are done, some bugs fixed and the Hard Fork.



I would like you to comment with your visual aids or written ideas of what you think Steemit can use to improve the Community for features and why.


It's OK to gather new ideas but if the same issues pop up, that is great too, because it will send the message that something is more important to the developers and Steemit Elders. My goal is again - use this blog post as a resource to help the dev's and the community members. I can combine them into one post later on if needed to help developers or members.

It is easily searchable also -- as I use the same key phrase in the title to keep it searchable - more easily.

I was trying to pick good tags...... I decided to use the TIL tag -- hoping someone either looking FOR help on learning something -- or someone looking TO help on these things would comment! I thought about that one for a couple mins.

If you want to tag people or share it so others can comment and contribute also, that is great. I have my own ideas and see a lot of people talking about it, but as someone who is NOT - I REPEAT NOT! tech savvy like many of you, and who is newer to the Blockchain and Crypto stuff, I know my role is limited to give ideas, I am just a Minnow LOL.

But I have been an activist for years, I am used to building community and gathering info and trying to help so I guess you can blame the activist side of me for this idea which I think is a good one -- an INTENTIONAL POST on the idea, to gather stuff in one place and be easily searchable and findable for all the IT types and developers etc.

Just my way of trying to contribute. I did not even know for sure what tags to use in this post, and I actually spent 5 mins looking and researching the best ones to try and use, before I posted this LOL. I will edit the tags ASAP if you give me better ones to use!!

If we can get some good feedback going, we can use these ideas, all in one place and people can refer back to them. That's why E.1 / E.2 /E.3 was in the title, I am hopeful it is helpful as a resource.


Sort:  

steemit is perfect, only needs more time to slowly develop into being more perfect

LOL

Pastor Craig preach it!

I see another video coming late tonite now.........

it's already uploading, I made it before I saw your post, and I do praise steemit in the video

Got a 45 mins video to watch tonite, about DASH again, brand new out to keep my learning hustle going and then yours my man.

TY for always giving me advice and tidbits man. I shall not forget!!!

In my uncalculating irrationality, I "flag" (downvote) your comment for "Disagreement on rewards"... They should be bigger ; )

(all in good fun, no harm intended, most likely no harm whatsoever done. But this shows part of the issue with having a "flag" or flag icon, I think.)

Good point! Proof of flag...make flaggers show some legitimacy...not simply because they "don't like" somebody's ideas...that's what replies are for!

Interesting concept to think about at least richq11.

EDIT: That's the last time I upvote @the.masses, since anyone can edit the comment afterwards. I now flag it for destructive language without reason, even though of course anyone can use it.

Or perhaps, much like a block chain seeks verification from various sources to confirm a piece of data, one flag on its own could perhaps be rendered useless until a certain amount of flags confirm that the post is unsuitable?

Just an initial idea after reading your post, but I'm sure if the community puts their brain power together, we could solve the problem you speak of.

Not just no post accounts, but also no accounts below a certain reputation... whatever that magic number is.

That's more tricky... what level should "we" choose? And who actually ends up choosing, and for the benefit of whom?

It doesn't have to be complicated. Perhaps a lower number.
Anyone (or bot) can create a quick post then flag. So no post accounts can become post accounts right away.

I guess it's no harder than "how much power should the whales have", but it still doesn't seem to be such an easy thing to solve. There are improvements/tweaks we can make though and that's a path I think would likely be better to take so that we don't end up creating a new bottleneck because we moved to fast on something.

There is some censorship on here 100%. A few ways.

-- there are wealthy accounts that flag at will and it scares people to freely think and comment, and suppresses liberty.

Some of the whales at least flag you blatently but have the balls or decency to at least tell you exactly why.

Not happened to me but we have all seen it.

Steemit guidelines for flagging were also changed these last 24 hours or so. They now only list common reasons to flag and also include "Disagreement on rewards".

Some of the whales at least flag you blatently but have the balls or decency to at least tell you exactly why.

Since their reasons are so subjective and they so often contradict themselves it's becoming more and more obvious that the reasons they give are dishonest, so I don't know why they bother give them or why we should show any respect just because they give their "reasons".

That is listed in the recent official @steemitblog post for proposed updates coming

This and downvotes need to be fixed ASAP. See my other comments.

I would say to keep more users active! One way might be to simply balance out rewards a bit more. Sure some people are making it big but what about those who are daily posting and many post got paid $0. Not saying all posts are deserving of a payout but the people who can make a difference need to jump on posts that are good quality but a newer person or one that is doing great work but not getting paid for it.

Small increases for people working hard at the bottom will make more people join and wish to stay. If they want a true return up top on their investment it's not holding a select few users above everyone it's really going to come from attracting new users who feel like they can get recognized for there hard work, obviously quality matters and content that will build a base of newer users that would over all increase value in the system.

Checking in Shawn to say hi again. (:

Spot and I have said the same many times. UV your comment with 100% of my 60% voting power lol

I agree with this. The current curation system encourages profit seeking curators to vote for the same content / authors making the game too predictable. I think we could balance rewards between the successfully known authors with a large following and the completely unknown new users by scaling the curation rewards from new to accomplished authors say for example from 40% - 20% and base it on the number of followers the author has. I have yet to see how this can be gamed.

It's true. I have had and seen similar talks.

It is nice hearing from you @beanz. Thanks

  1. Follow tags
  2. Favourite tags on the right panel
  3. Tip with steem with 2 clicks (button next to upvote?)

Steemit has a major balancing issue. Big players get bigger with huge curation rewards, little players get frustrated and don't stick it out, as they have little reason to. Long term, being unable to attract new players will be a problem.
Solutions? Limit a votes power. Really there is no way to get around this, except for that. Whats the point of me voting, if my votes power is 1/6000 of another votes worth? And nothing is more frustrating than getting $6 for one vote on a post, and nothing on a post with 170+ votes. The balance is skewed to the point where it no longer has a perception of "fair". If steemit isnt viewed as fair, why would a new player participate?

I feel discriminated this way. Its unfair to new users. How about a steem power reset on a monthly basis? This would force everyone to become active. Lol

LOL!!!!

It is hilarious but oddly enough, what you said very succinctly -- = some truth for sure.

haha, yeah I know my suggestion is impossible. Our next option as a steemit newbie is to pursue to become a whale :(

Please continue reading and writing about ideas. Your opinion matters.

So TRUE, so fair and so simple!

There is a lot of truth to that, so many people have said similar/related things, myself included. People just leave as a result of (mainly, IMHO) -- this

It needs some chaing for sure. But until we can change such things or maybe to get us closer to it, I think a concept such as my "hindsight rewards" could be a good thing to implement.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@hilarski/steemit-referral-program-and-incentives#@the-ego-is-you/re-hilarski-steemit-referral-program-and-incentives-20161224t190500192z

Steemit Dev's have watched this series and asked me to compile ideas out of it -- just so you know. I am wading thru this series now, it also reinforces we clearly need a better sorting and search system, which has always been on my list.

LOL!!!

Pass the word around.

There are couple things I´d like to see this year on Steemit:

  • Add photos to the platform.
  • Alow private messages on the platform. It´s so crazy we need to log in to another place to send messages.
  • It would be nice if we could make live stream videos.
  • What about a button to block spammers?

I´ve been in Social Media for many years and I noticed these are the things that users like. ;)

Cheers @barrydutton

@anahilarski I agree! for the fact we have to report to another place to write private messages, really is a turn off! I used it one time when it was first announced and never went back lol
All of your suggestions were great by the way ;)

Lol me too, I only login once @tradz ;) Have a great week!

Many good ideas. I personally think flagging/downvoting controversy has been a big issue and is scaring away new users. Would you agree that there need to be some change in that department as well?

I would think so, hope they do something about it @the-ego-is-you ;)

lol .... well, let's hope together I guess

It is nice hearing from you Ana. Thanks for commenting - it is nice to hear from you.

I have said some similar things and also viewed many others saying the same.

Unrelated I put up a post today if you want to learn a bit more about me. I msgd Randy on it.

Have a nice day.

Thanks @barrydutton I´ll check your post ;)

I believe we need to see easier communication between users. Drop the arbitrary 6 responses rule and enable private messaging through the platform. Upvoted and resteemed! FULL STEEM AHEAD!!!

Agreed and as per my replies here.

On one post I stated (for the nesting limits/ 6 deep) -- That is listed in the recent official @steemitblog post for proposed updates coming

A very important thing to change. See my comment. The other issue is flagging.

Hi I´m pretty new within the steem comunity but there is something I actually find strange. Why can anyone look into everybody wallet? to me it just helps potentially attackers-hackers into someone´s account and I do not see the use of it.
I actually find it quite intrusive.
I still love what Steem it its doing! Changing the world!

I have always kind of thought the same and nobody has written it like you just did LOL< so good on ya, thanks!

I think it's been considered ok within the crypto currency community ever since Bitcoin, but it might need adjusting now that there actually are ways to hide it.

I would love to see new follower notification and I wanna select what picture will be thumbnail of the post.

Good points, thanks!

I'm quite happy not to have a notification for each new follower, but it could certainly be made an option.
Selecting thumbnails would be good of course. Do you have an opinion on "flagging vs downvoting" and what it should be used for?

Also I writed one post about one my idea:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@fibra59/steemit-suggestion-for-improvement
I don't want to promote post, just I don't wanna write same thing again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27