Hey Steemit Family!! What was YOUR 1st blog post you authored on here, and WHY? | E.30 | Post it!! | Community Engagement Series.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

My 1st ever blog post & the FUN / Liberty based backstory is here for you below.

It was on Bushcraft / Self Reliance & Off Grid life and interests for me. It was posted on Sept. 23, 2016, about 6 weeks after I signed up LOL.

I did not feel comfortable here, everything was so new, I did not know how to format ANYTHING, and I was feeling my way out around this new place, so yes, I relate to new people -- and remember that DAILY in my posts, series I run, and replies.

That's the TLDR version, if you want the longer story, keep reading or just skip to the comments and let us know here your first blog and why you posted it!


And I want to see your first one that you authored on here, and WHY you chose that topic!


Some of my Backstory for you:

--

As I just mentioned above in brief, I was not comfortable MAKING a blog post with everyone on here knowing blogging, formatting, making their posts look pretty, I basically joined Steemit the first week of August 2016 -- August is my birthday month so I will always remember that. I believe it might have been August 7th, as some others have now posted their milestones and official "Steemit joining anniversary" dates and I was named in some of them - showing August 7th.

I spent the first weeks here reading and commenting on posts.

A LOT.



I have always said I am not a blogger.... I am just a guy that blogs.

-- And there is a big difference.

I kind of fell into this due to my pursuit of Liberty.

Crypto/Bitcoin/CryptoCurrency/Blockchain is all a part of that journey.

I've always been an activist type person and like helping people, and informing them of things going on in the world that affects them.

I guess all my public activism for years as such, the run for City Council to actually challenge the corrupt establishment and help people.... led me to the research, speeches in public forums, publishing of videos over the years on these things, along with running my Real Estate business, and constantly posting on Social Media like Fascistbook etc - to try and make a difference for humanity.

It eventually over the years led me into the Off Grid / Bushcraft / Outdoors community as I had always had an interest in it, am a bit of a hippy by most standards with my daily beliefs and practices in life for the world around me, the environment, and using sustainable / best practices in my life and belief systems.


My first post ever @Steemit post - the main picture/graphic - and link to it in late Sept. / 2017:

--

https://steemit.com/offgrid/@barrydutton/what-s-bushcraft-anyways-those-outdoorsy-self-reliant-off-grid-people

--

Why did I pick this topic?

--

Because I want to live a more self reliant lifestyle. I do not believe everyone should be forced to remain connected to the Matrix and the Grid by the government by force, manufactured and uninformed consent, and coercion if they don't want to be.

I desire to lead a simpler life than we are conditioned daily by media and the agencies to think we need.

Being able to live simply yet well, is something attainable

Primitive skills of self reliance are completely being lost for homesteading / off grid life if you wish to live that way and be connected to the simple, more primitive life and forced to remain connected... to The Grid.



How did my idea for this new series come about?

--

I was talking a lot one day around March of 2016 with the wordsmith @dwinblood who is a very sharp and engaged guy about some of this.

As usual, when I am online or offline, my mind continues to work on ideas to build community, try different things, and I came up with this idea later to do this

"get to know your neighbour" series...

LOL.

It also serves as a regular reminder / library for people to use to find their FIRST POST which is always special. Some of the series I do, like the STEEMIT NEEDS series - also serves this purpose.

An archive you can always come back to, or someone else can, to find something in particular.


E.2 of this series was posted a long time ago!!! March of 2017 - I had intended on doing it weekly but I have quite a few things I work on and they get buried at times, oopsy. (:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/hey-steemit-what-was-your-1st-blog-post-you-authored-on-here-and-why-post-it-community-engagement-series-e-2

I think it is unique and functional! That's why I have come up with a few different series' that I run weekly!!!

I am excited actually to do it so I can engage more with you, as a community and resident on Steemit -- and learn more about you!


The first post you gingerly step out and do on here, as a Minnow, likely says something important about you and I want to listen to you, and learn WHY you chose that topic!

I had an hour's worth of comments typed back and forth with @dwinblood over the March 5th and 6th 2017 period.

One comment that led me to start thinking about doing this series can actually be found right here on our friend @thecryptofiend's post about a topic I focus on regularly and had talked with him on this the night before he made this post:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/would-greater-comment-voting-help-the-community#@barrydutton/re-dwinblood-re-barrydutton-re-dwinblood-re-barrydutton-re-dwinblood-re-thecryptofiend-would-greater-comment-voting-help-the-community-20170306t161827635z


ENGAGEMENT COUNTS IN ANY COMMUNITY!

--

Pls. Resteem / Share the link on others pages where you feel you can and invite people. New people! Older Steemians! Everyone is welcome!

Try to engage and help others, we are SteemitFamily I always say!!

Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/meme-ing-the-blockchain-or-e-30-or-the-government-banning-bitcoin-will-be-this-effective

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/video-just-released-really-good-max-keiser-rt-show-interviews-on-crypto-explosion-bitcoin-jameson-lopp-interview

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/4vnmtz-steemit-101-charts-basics-for-new-people-or-if-you-have-sbd-to-trade-sell-now-is-still-a-good-time-trading-currently-still

https://steemit.com/sevendaybnwchallenge/@barrydutton/steemit-black-white-7-day-photo-challenge-with-friends-you-are-invited-too-complete-rules-in-post-day-6

https://steemit.com/money/@barrydutton/investment-language-101-series-term-of-the-day-residual-value-or-e-13-or-trading-candle-cheat-sheet-incl-each-episode

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/life-in-crypto-is-like-18-or-we-may-have-to-go-on-without-them

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/did-you-hodl-or-sodl-tldr-lol-or-e-30-or-how-was-your-week-in-crypto-usd330b-total-market-cap-or-7-days-usd38b-or-community

Most stock Images / Gif's day to day- usually via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com, Imgur.com, PixaBay unless otherwise noted, with thanks.

If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first 13 mths here, I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.



Sort:  

My first post was what I'll loosely call a poem which I woke up with fully formed and ringing in my mind. It's a dream poem I suppose, birthed whole from my subconscious. I had been toying with the idea of posting to Steemit, and had never had a poem appear unbidden from my dreams, so I thought "why not?", and posted it. I got two votes, other than my own, and exactly no comments, which was not surprising, given how much I didn't know about writing for Steemit.

I was disturbed by the increase in fracturing along racial lines that I was seeing under the last administration, and was digging into how this could happen after growing up in a highly interracial community. I still don't know how we could go from where we were to the mess we're in today under the 'first black president', but I hope things turn around.

https://steemit.com/chocolate/@lifeworship/live-smatter

Basically every politician is a puppet as you may know.

The black president thing was planned by the elite for such a time as that.

The sElections have nothing to do with votes, it has always been rigged, and not just "uncovered" by Trump LOL.

-- people need to wake up

Thanks for commenting again, it is always good to hear from you.

Thank you, it is good to be here when I can.

Rigged in too many ways to count, but toward a purpose. The majority is still reacting as though it is real.

Racism can be stirred up, but the people have to capitulate to the fear voluntarily for it to create widespread unrest. I am unsure what the people may do.

The stirring is occurring, and I don't think that most people care enough about their hatred to actually burn down civilization, maybe if they get hungry. I hope not.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dreamlucid/pondering-quitting-my-job-inadvertently-introduced-me-to-steem

This was my first account. Its been a good 9 months, i look forward to posting more consistently over the next 9.

thanks for sharing my dear

all the best.
✌✌

Nice spam all day long and you have been flagged down to almost nothing.

bots, dummies, they never learn....

My first post was who is Ronaldo

Well, this is some kind of fun to recollect what I had written with my first blog on Steemit.

Obviously my first post was an introduction about myself and it was on 23rd September 2017.

Thanks for putting on such a nice post with all the details of your posts.

Thanks. Hope you are doing fine. Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81