Could Steemit be used for Charity or Fundraising?

in #steemit6 years ago

begging-1922612_1280.png

As a newbie, I've been meaning to ask this question. To me, it seems that Steemit could be a great place to have fundraisers for charitable causes or even just for crowdfunding a project. I mean, what could be easier? You just up-vote the post you want to support. I'm new to Steemit and I don't know if this has been tried yet, or even if it's not against the rules, however, I think it would be a great future idea for this platform and something that could even further increase the popularity of Steemit.

I know a lot of sicks kids in my country and poor families that can barely afford to pay their medical bills and survive and if the Steemit community could actually help improve their lives simply by voting up their posts as charity wouldn't that be great? Or if when some genius from a poor country invents a cool new thing but has no way to fund it to make it real, we could help with that. I know that Steemit posts don't make so much money but still, every little bit helps and if the community came together for a good cause, we could do some great things to save some lives. What do you guys think? Could charity and fundraising have a future on Steemit?

Sort:  

I agree with you brother. other than making money for personal use it can also be used to touch lives.

That's what I was thinking as well. We all want to make money but if we could also help some people change their lives in the process, that would be great.

Steemit could be used for charity and fundraising but I think there has to be some form of regulation else anyone could publish a fundraising post for a certain worthy cause only to pocket the entire proceeds. It has been known to happen before and there is a reason fundraising is heavily regulated in most countries.
So it can be done but without regulation, it just opens the way for people to get scammed.

I was thinking about that as well. I'm honestly not knowledgeable enough to solve this at this moment. I don't know how it could be done but I definitely do think there would need to be a system of checks, otherwise anyone could claim to be raising funds for charity. Still, I hope one day we can see it implemented and have some of these crypto funds directed to a good cause.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24