Steemit - please can you provide one sentence in your own words?

in #steemit8 years ago


Hi folks - still trying to get a handle on what this site is really for?

Have to admit - I don't even care about the money - just really exited about getting together with a group where I can talk my head off for once without breaking any 'rules'. Am I in the right place? Not up for a good time :)

Can someone please tell me in their own words - exactly what this site is for and who hangs here?

Tamara.

p.s. this is a photo and me the kids when they were little - way before I had a digital camera :)


Sort:  

You could think of Steemit as a blog and social media site together in one place.
So you get the liberty to write whatever (long form or short form), on whatever topic interests you (that's the Blog part). Then you now get to interact with Steemians (our code name) as they comment on your posts (that's the social media part).
I'm way beyond my one sentence limit lol. Don't mind me, I love to talk. 😊
Welcome to Steemit!

thankyou - i love to talk too!! I watched their promotional video - but not once did they explain what steemit actually is??!! enjoying it so far and i love to talk too ha ha - hence the fact i didn't get paid yesterday as i exceeded the post limit :)

That's what you get when techies run something. They focus a lot more on the tech side. It's completely normal to them. Lol
On your post limit, i'm sure you won't let that happen again.
Max of four posts per day and you could also spread them out with a break of four hours in between. Then let all the other talking be done in comments. No limit on the comments you can make.
I'm looking forward to reading more of your comments as I glide through the Steemit ocean every now and then. 😊

thanks for that - i do like the format of this forum and there are some really intelligent people on here - i am looking forward to doing lots more reading myself too :) tam

To me this platform will be a Facebook killer, Perhaps even Twitter killer.
It seems like an awesome place to be who you really are, share interesting stuff, and be part of a community that mostly doesn't troll. I'm new here, so it's all a bit of a blur.

Thanks for your reply - i think that one of the exciting things is that we are all here at the very beginning of this project and we were all brought here for a reason because we found other sites lacking the ability to express ourselves that we so desparately need. I must admit I find facebook great for staying in touch with my fellow aussies when i am in scotland, and until recently I never had a group so its great for advancing that - but still something is missing there for me - perhaps steemit will help me to fulfil that gap but so far it is still an outlet that is based on a popularity contest format - not great for the soul really in that regard? am i wrong?

Just use it as a self-development blog, share stuff that genuinely interests you, and slowly connect with others. Been working ok for me so far, been experimenting a lot and interacting with others. Tried a dozen different types of contents as well.. I dunno, I think it's just to be experienced.. welcome to steemit by the way!

hey thanks for that - i think that this is a great forum for amazing writers and people who are artistic in various ways and the more talented or 'real' a person is - the more votes they will receive from everyone - its gonna be interesting :)

hi ya - i think it will definitely have a place in the world but maybe for a select group whereas facebook and twitter are for the mainstream :) i see this as a place to bring together all the bloggers of the world - all the writers and all the artists into one big conglomeration - a place where the wannabe authors can test their work or promote published articles and books. I like the non-trolling atmosphere tho - major plus!

Great post, I upvoted it, Plz up-vote me to help fight collusive whales and flaggers, They flagged @captainamerica, enough is enough

with any club there will always have to be someone to lay down the rules and administer them according to where they want the group to go - I have problems keeping mine in line too - but sometimes if the vision is clear from the very start and the rules are posted for everyone to see you tend to save yourself a lot of work and eliminate the problem-makers from the outset :)

Steem.it is a place where I like to post. I don't know of many rules. I hope you enjoy it here.

now thats what i am talking about - thank you!! xx tamara

Saluton Tamara kaj bonvenon je Steemit. Estas granda plezuro vidi vin kun viaj belaj infanoj. Steemit estas loko por esprimi sin kaj doni proprajn ideojn, de kiuj ankaŭ profitas aliaj.

I used Google translate for this bit - hope it is right? Dankon tiom por tio - mi legis la Roadmap kiu faras por interesa legado sed mi ne estas programisto por duono transiris mia kapo :)

Thank you so much for that - I read the Roadmap which makes for interesting reading but I am not a programmer so half of it went over my head :)

Welcome to steemit , Your going to love it here ! Its actually addicting ! I blog for 10 hrs at work on my boring security job and it sure helps the time go by ! Im definitly addicted to steemit ! Heres a link to my last post I just up ! You can come on patrol with me and if you like it feel free to follow me and coment so I can follow you back ! Never stop steeming on ! 👍😊 https://steemit.com/photography/@karenmckersie/come-on-patrol-with-me-more-new-photos-to-share

hi there that sounds totally cool - now thats a very useful way to while the time away - so yes i am all up for that - gonna check them out - i have been blogging on and off for ten years but did away with it all - now i only blog for work because some of my fellow employees found my private online blog i used to write for friends back home in oz - and they showed it to my boss - i was NOT happy as you can imagine :) For years since I have been keeping my private thoughts - exactly that - private, and prob not the healthiest course of action ;) Tamara

Lol ! Your right about that ! Well I work the graveyard shift alone and only use my own tablet ! I never was a blogger till I joined steemit ! And I hate facebook ! Thanks for checking out my recent post ! I am now a follower of yours Steem On ! 💙👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59486.49
ETH 2588.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47