You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I got 'hacked', recovered my accounts and improved the Steemit account security

in #steemit8 years ago

I am new to steemit and my password was generated randomly so I guess I am safe from such attacks. Am I? I suppose steemit should implement 2FA

Sort:  

the 2 Factor Authentication is a must . Most sites have already implemented it. Steemit should implement it too

It doesn't work that way. With the password or keys a malicious hacker can do anything without loging into steemit.

Unfortunately 2FA is not trivial on a blockchain, you have to remember that any attackers do not need to use steemit.com to hack your account. There are initiatives underway for STEEM but they're not ready for mainstream yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51