I Am Not On Steemit For Money. I Am Here For The People

in #steemit7 years ago

Last night, as I was hanging out on the couch with my lovely boyfriend, we got into a discussion about Steemit.

Now this is not the first time this has happened.

He seems to believe that I am spending so much time, energy and effort into Steemit for money.

And yesterday, it finally clicked.

It’s because I am not really involving him and telling him about my life here on Steemit.

I do not tell him about the times that my heart blows full up of joy because someone has posted something amazing, shared an deep part of themselves or has done something beautiful for someone else.

I do not tell him about my dear dear Steemit friends who I speak to on a nearly daily basis.

I do not tell him about the stories that people share on @humansofsteemit which happens to open people completely up.

I somehow have just forgotten to tell him all this stuff.

And I also know why that is.

In the beginning, I was spending SO much time on Steemit that I was consumed by it.

He didn’t really like this because he felt I was being more involved with Steemit than I was with him.

Which was true.

I was just obsessed!

And obviously he got a bit upset with me about it all.

So that kind of stopped me sharing things about Steemit with him.

But now I realize, I have to involve him.

I want to involve him and tell him about all the great things I experience on a daily basis.

Because (and this is THE important part)

I AM NOT ON STEEMIT FOR MONEY.

I AM ON STEEMIT FOR THE PEOPLE.


Look I am not going to lie.
The money aspect.
IS GREAT.

But it’s not the reason I am on here.

It’s the people.
It’s you.
It’s my Steemit friends.
It’s getting to know a stranger who lives on the other side of the world.

It’s the tribe that I have found here and I am a part of.

THAT is the reason I am on here.

THAT is why I spend every chance I can on here and doing stuff.

THAT is the reason I created @humansofsteemit


It’s the people that make Steemit.

It’s the people that make me want to dedicate my entire life to this place.

Without you, there would be no Steemit.

Without you, I wouldn’t be here.

Photo from unsplash.com

BIG love,

Ashley

Steemit Ashley Kalila.png


Sharing Authentically.png

BANNER HUMANS OF STEEMIT.png

My LoveProject is @humansofsteemit! Featuring the humans behind the Steemit usernames!

Sort:  

I'd like to echo every single thing you say here, it expresses my experience as well. I love this platform - yes the $ is what got me here and definitely a great incentive, but the people and the fact that we are changing the world through this decentralized model!

I have this experience you describe here nearly every time I read a few posts, comments, replies....it's THE big reason I'm here:

the times that my heart blows full up of joy because someone has posted something amazing, shared an deep part of themselves or has done something beautiful for someone else.

Thanks for articulating all of this so well :-), so glad to know you!

Thank you for being so supportive @thenatureofbeing

I am glad that I can find the words to express myself properly!

Have a lovely Christmas :)

Make him a special feature on @humansofsteemit and then let him see the results (responses, not the profit)😅😅

What a good idea!!!!!

Im going to ask him!

:)

True, I love my community that interact with.

Online tribe life!

A lot of people have the notion some of us are here for the money. They see Steemit as a quick way to get money, which shouldn't be the factor. Good you made it known to your boyfriend and sorry if that conversation heated up a little.

Haha

You are kind.

Yes the convo was definitely heated but nothing that we can't deal with. hehe

It's good to get things clear ourselves and each other!

Yeah. It’s needed. Glad y’all cool. Waiting to follow him once he joins steemit. Heheh

You seem like a genuine person. Lovely post
I followed you, feel free to check my blog

Thank you!

I like to think I am too ;)

And thats how steemit was supposed to work! Great job with the post.

Yup yippity yewwwww! :)

On point @ashleykalila .. 👍 to be honest at first, I came here for money.. but during browsing all posts, I've seen that there is more I can get here.. motivation, and positivity.. as most posts I've seen is about being positive in all aspect of life.. I even learn alot in here.. 👌

There is SO much to gain here apart from the money.

Stick around and see it all unfold for yourself! :)

It's not money, it's monopoly coins. :)

And yeah. People. It's why I don't have time to post. Too busy training new users and curating like a madwoman.

Crazy interwebz monies ;)

I hear ya - and same here ;)))

yes it's a good post but we're here for people and for money

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31