You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: REGISTERING FOR A NEW ACCOUNT - HOW TO BYPASS PHONE & EMAIL VERIFICATION

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I don't see a link to the source code anywhere. How are we to trust that it won't steal the active key otherwise? The active key and account name are all that is necessary to drain all of the funds from an account.

Please don't take this as an accusation that you are doing anything nefarious, but to someone familiar with the workings of a graphene based blockchain this is setting off all kinds of alarm bells.

I would advise everyone against using this tool as is, and hope you will offer some clarification as to why we should trust you that this tool, hosted on a site you control, is trustworthy.

Sort:  

The source code is JS and everyone can see it. Unlike all the alternative tools which are server side and hidden. Please keep in mind that even steemit.com is a third party website that you have to trust when you use it to interact with the blockchain. If anyone doesn't want to use their active key, they can either use anonsteem as @someguy123 said below or contact me via chat and I'll happily use my own account and active key to create a new account for them and they can then change the password. Any other question or comment is welcome. :]

Thanks for your feedback. Please check the post again. I updated it. :]

Awesome! I was writing the following reply this morning before I got distracted by falling BTS prices and needing to close margin positions, and subsequently fell asleep. Your update has made it unnecessary, but since I already wrote it except for the last word , I may as well include it.

I didn't actually think that you were doing anything nefarious, but was a little surprised that you didn't state that outright to back up your assertion that this won't steal anyone's keys. The lack of that citation makes your post very hard to distinguish from one that a nefarious individual might post, and IMHO in an ideal world such a citation should be backed with a link to a github repo.
I would like to reiterate that the strongly worded nature of my post was in no way meant to be an attack on you, but rather to raise awareness about the importance of security. I'm new to this platform, but am a veteran of cryptodom. There are a lot of users new to cryptocurrency here, and I don't want to see any of them get robbed.

Thanks! I understand the concern and appreciate the feedback :]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61155.34
ETH 2383.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56