How Easy It Is To Convince Someone To Start Using SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

We Will All Benefit!


The more users, the better! That's it. The more users, the more people to inspire, to get to know, and more rewards for your craft. We shouldn't be sitting in our dark room with our white cat on our lap and just counting our upvotes. We should actively spread the word about Steemit., with a white cat on our lap in a dark room. When the STEEM price rises, it's because more people are buying STEEM, and more people are joining us. More people, the better.

hvid kat gif.gif

It Was Really Easy


When something is too good to be true, it probably is - Everyone

Except Steemit.

This is what happened

I bumped into @jonasqsl and we immediately started talking about bitcoin, crypto, ether etc. I mentioned Steemit. He hadn't heard of it, so I explained. Btw, I am not a guy that knows a lot about this blockchain technology. So I did my best. I told him:

"Basically Steemit is a social media where instead of mining like with Bitcoin, you mine by creating content, commenting, upvoting etc."
And he was like...
"Exciting..."
Fast forward a couple of days, and now he is here! I dare you to give his introduction post a read. I dare you, I double dare you!

Also Got My Brother Into It

My brother @underachiever was a bit more sceptic until I showed him that I made 9.54 dollars on a post.
Then he was like "Cool man! So I can earn money on writing about stuff that interest me?" - "Yes, you can!"
He aslo asked the question everybody ask: "How do I get my money from this account to my bank account?"

Well.."You simply trade them to bitcoin and from bitcoin to your currency"

Simplicity

You have to be able to "sell" Steemit with a few lines. You have to explain it very simple, especially to the people who don't even know what and how Bitcoin works.

Example: Steemit is a social media. On Steemit you earn STEEM which is like bitcoin. Instead of having to buy or start mining bitcoin, you get STEEM from creating content on Steemit.

Steemit made it possible for my grandmother to start mining cryptocurrency.

How did you guys attract new user to steemit? Tell me in the comments!

Follow @arsenal49

Sort:  

I would say is rather hard since it is a new technology and people are used of their old ways.

I see your point, but their old ways are there to be replaced. Sooner or later.

Like you have pinpointed, it is dead dead easy to convince someone to join steemit! There are many angles to talk the subject "steemit" from. Indeed is easier even for a crypto-novice steemian to convince a non-crypto non-steemian to join steemit! If you are African or reside there, here:
https://steemit.com/africa/@afro-naija-trail/afro-naija-trail-dedicated-to-growing-and-supporting-the-african-nigerian-steemit-community

Sorry about Arsenal!

Haha i'm fine. The Champions League title is something far away for us anyway. Like an Utopia that is ofcourse nonexistent. Thanks for commenting :)

Glad that you were able to bring some new people here. I tried to convince my dad to join steemit but he thought it's a scam. I have even made a post about it.

You have to be able to "sell" Steemit with a few lines. You have to explain it very simple, especially to the people who don't even know what and how Bitcoin works.

Tried that and sadly, didn't succeed. :P I will soon find a better way though. :)))

A dad is never easy ;)

Thanks for showing me the light bud ;)

No problem mate! ;)

This was helpful :) I was over on Reddit recently trying to get my excitement across about how cool Steemit is but didn't have any luck. I was told by one person that Steemit sounded like the shadiest thing they've ever heard of and asked if I was also a Nigerian prince. For one thing, it would be anatomically impossible for me to be a prince. And for another thing, IF I were a prince I'd totally get all of my genius marketing minions to do all of the enlightening FOR me...psht. :D I did find a short video on Youtube explaining Steemit too which might help but I like how you explained it in comparison to Bitcoin. Thank for the help :)

Yes, a lot of people on Reddit seem to hate it. Don't know why. Can you link the video. I would like to watch it ? :)

"When something is too good to be true, it probably is" that was exactly my first sentence when hearing about Steemit. But now I still use this sentence but with "I'm in!, let someone else proof we are wrong"

I thought the same, but if you spend a day on steemit you are changed.

Told my wife about it and she joined but not blogged yet. I realized that the trouble is even folks in crypto world find this platform is legit.

I am trying to get folks who have taken the wrong pill to join the best way I can - writing a story from the perspective of a non-believer. Give it a read and do let me know your thoughts.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@nrajesh/breaking-blocks

Congratulations @arsenal49! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65