You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [STEEM iOS APP] Announcement: First Native iOS App Released (Approved by Apple) – beta download available

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)
Also instead of $ we denote in STEEM.

I recommend using SD instead, since that is actually technically accurate (in fact I kind of think steemit.com should be using SD as well instead of $).

By the way, I noticed you are connecting to steemit.com's websocket (wss://steemit.com/wstmp3). You should ask them how they feel about that. But even if it is okay with them, it is still probably not a good idea because that URL can change at any time but the string is hard coded into your app.

It would be best to host your own node that the app connects to. And you would likely eventually want to monetize in some way (perhaps by injecting some small, unobtrusive, and clearly marked, promoted posts in the feed) to help pay for the operation of the backend nodes and also to pay for further development of the app.

Sort:  

I appreciate the feedback!
I will have think about a node. It sounds like there is no official ws then... I will have a chat with you guys in slack.
SD sound like a good idea.

I have now posted on Slack regarding websocket usage policy in #general and #help - hoping to get an answer
In the future I had plans to make the ws connection is editable and different public ws like steemit.com, piston rocks would be options. I am wondering if this is within the usage policy of @ned @dan @xeroc

If you don't mind, I would love to know their response, if they provide one.

checkout Steem Mobile as well, Android version is available for beta testing, Amazon app store version is also available for Kindle devices. iOS version coming soon. It allows you to change node to any available websocket node within app.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66