PONGY - My First Ever Game

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I have finally (partially) filled my dream of making my first game. Although it's concept is not original, it's really something that has helped me understand the fundamental basics of game development. I have written the journey of the development of this game below.

Here's the link on itch.io. You can click on Pongy to download and play the game.


Sometimes, we ought to have different attractions in life which let us spend quality time and which may be productive as well. This was something which i experienced during my holidays lately. I had a passion to do something creative for my own self so i decided to fulfill my incomplete dream of making my own game. I knew the process was going to be incredibly hard so I decided to start out with making a clone of the popular game Pong. I am currently learning the basics of game making and I will surely come up with new and unique ideas of gaming with different addictive concepts.

I always wanted to be a game developer because developing games is like making your own imaginary world come to life

Introduction to "Pongy"

Here, i used a simple concept of Pong, which myself used to play when i used to go to school and even now in my free time i enjoy playing it. The software i used to make it was "Game Maker" which is pretty simple but much detailed software. Frankly speaking, i didn't know how to use it but thanks to all those tutorials that helped me understand the software. Currently, i am planning to learn C++ and make a top-down RPG which I always wanted to make in my life. I have also documented the whole process and my journey, here it is.

Designing assets

It all begins with "Sprite Creation" which means you have to have a concept initially in your mind about the main characters around which your game will revolve. It all includes all the important pieces that are joined to make a complete game . For your ears and eyes, It was not easy as it seems because you need to set each and every major and minor inch of the game to execute it properly.

Playing games is much easier than making them

When i was struggling hard in bringing this game come to life i had to go through many unfortunate happenings. One of the most unfortunate instance that i would like to quote is when my laptop crashed. I was just in the middle of codding and designing my game when this incident happened. After, I got it repaired my craze for completing this was already dieing. One of my best friend who knew about it motivated me to get started once again.

Coding Hell

Some of you guys may not know but there is a huge network of codding behind every game in order to make it work and enjoyable for the players which includes making the paddles move up and down. Executing the collision codes with different objects. I had to face many failures due to incorrect commanding and malfunctioning of the given commands.

In short, even if u develop and short and simple game, it requires a lot of courage and temperament for a beginner like me to face the challenges and execute it properly.

Scoring

After the game was structured, scoring was there to be placed as well which wasn't an easy thing to do. The most difficult part for me was when score was not being drawn and was having issues in updating accurately in the game, every time i did it it went wrong. I had to go through many tutorials for the same and finally after a through study and practicing I did it on my own.

Setting it up and final touches

After the game was developed, the last thing was to make it a bit attractive for the players so I added some colors effects and polished it uneven features and made it much more attractive. Finally I made it!!

After all my efforts, I achieved my goal of making my own game

So, here i am introducing you all my passion, my first ever game project. It would be really helpful, if you appreciate my efforts so i can continue my passion and come up with new and interesting ideas for everyone!

Please do follow me on Steemit for more games and updates in near future. Thank you!

Sort:  

It may not be next The Witcher, but I want to encourage you to keep developing. The game industry is blowing up every head so please keep developing new projects.

If you can be creative, you can do a good job. And this is your first step into the cool gaming industry.

If you want to make an RPG, as you stated, I can suggest you to try RPG maker. It's not expansive and many gems came out thanks to it.

Making an RPG is the goal really. I've looked into RPG maker and it is indeed worth a look.

I sincerely thank you for the support.

No problem :) I'm looking forward to your future projects! :)

That's nice! You started small, keep improving and one day you will get big.
I started making a game a couple of years ago but I made the mistake of starting with a big project and as consequence, never finished it. Never aim further than where you can shoot.
By the way, I advise you to use open source engines like Godot or atomic game engine because they give you much more control over your project, let you export to all platforms.

Something similar had also happened to me a while back. I hope that some day you get the chance to complete the game.

I've looked into the engines you mentioned and they were certainly worth the look. I'm looking at some of the tutorial videos on YouTube. Thanks so much for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54605.61
ETH 2303.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31