You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are we in an echo chamber?

in #steemit7 years ago

I am saddened by the amount of plagiarism and content theft that needs to be waded through to find good original nuggets. I'm still looking for 'my people' on here but it's been tough.

I wish that there could be a separate discussion area of sorts, and that the cash-in-by-ripping-off-content posts could be quarantined to or deported to that area, and that it had rep-only gains.

Sort:  

Totally agree. I've been reporting plagiarized content via steemit.chat whenever I come across it. The channel is #steemcleaners-linkdrop if you want to help out.

I feel that the topic tagging system is a bit clunky and chaotic. I wonder if it might be worth it to develop a machine-learning based community aggregator to cluster both posts and peoples so it's easier to find "your peoples". Thoughts?

I found some of my people, this post motivated me to 'take another look'! I am such a noob, I didn't realize how incomplete the page with the trending tags was. So yeah, your idea of some sort of smart-clustering system that incorporated a complete list of tags would be awesome. I don't know much about what would be involved in creating such a system though. Cheers to you :)

I am sorry to bother you but I am such a noob that I am not really sure how to even do the drag and drop onto the channel chat that post talks about? It's probably obvious but I'm not sure what it's referring to.

Coincidentally, while we were talking someone plagiarized a post I spent considerable time researching and writing :(
https://steemit.com/freedom/@fairgirl/is-the-american-law-institute-the-hidden-head-of-the-hydra-or-could-it-be-the-heart-of-the-beast

If you could offer any assistance or clarity it would be much appreciated!

Just copy and paste both links - yours and theirs into chat. Then I usually type out a brief reason why.

Ah I see lol, thank you for this clarification.

I would say such posts should simply be removed. There should be no place here for blatantly plagiarized work.

Does seem difficult to find a sense of "your people". I post content and see who responds, but that becomes much more difficult for content consumers. One solution is for someone to develop a wrapper for the blockchain that uses a "Suggested for you" section based on what you already upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56