Are Your Friends As Suspicious of The Steemit Brand As Mine?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

soap-bubble-2489583_1920.jpg

I went out for sushi with a friend today, and she told me how she had stopped writing. I suggested that she join Steemit. I told her she could practice her writing and get paid. She looked bewildered and said: “what is it called?” “Steemit with 2 e’s” I said. “You get paid to post and participate.” More confusion. Then the clincher - I told her you get paid in cryptocurrency. I lost her with the funny money and suddenly the subject was changed.

Rule of Seven

Studies have shown that people need to see your advertising seven times before they buy the product.

Repetition in advertising keeps brand at the forefront of a customer’s mind. So I am asking my friends with repetitive frequency to join. The next time we are in contact I will send her a link about how to start a new account on Steemit.

I convinced one of my son's to join Steemit a year ago. Here’s his introductory post:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@carsonhoy/hi-steemit-i-m-carson-and-i-m-going-to-win-grammys

But now he says he doesn’t have TIME to post on Steemit.

People are accustomed to posting on social media sites for free, although those sites collect data and put advertisements in their feed. Steemit doesn’t do this. It simply pays you to post, upvote and comment so the site will grow in users and Steem will become more widely used which will help the community and the currency grow.

The restaurant had a sign saying Visa accepted here.

bitcoin-2567986_1920.jpg

Call me idealistic, but In the near future, I believe Bitcoin will be accepted there.

Here’s my sales pitch to my friends:

Opening a Steemit account is free.

There is no charge to join

It pays you to post and upvote and comment.

It is not a scam.

It's lots of fun and you learn a lot and meet some amazing people.

You get to practice your writing and photography and get feedback on your ideas.

You can invest your money back into the platform, or exchange it for bitcoin and eventually US dollars.

After seven repetitions, someone will take the bait and join. What have they got to lose?

That is how we will grow the platform! 7X by word of mouth! One person at a time. Each one teach one.

How many people have you recruited to Steemit?

Thanks for reading!

photos Pixabay

Sort:  

Yeah they kind of are. Or maybe they just need to try it and get the hang of it. A lot of my friends are into Bitcoin so I'm not sure why they don't get on Steem. Maybe we have a long way to go before we can compete with Facebook or Twitter, as those platforms have a lot of capabilities and bells and whistles.

True, they are fancier platforms, but Steemit has so much heart as a group! Thanks for commenting!

nice post! i upvoted you!

for all steemians on this post......... follow me and i follow you bros! :D
Follow Me : https://steemit.com/@cryptonews24

Thanks a lot!

Am following you

Thanks a lot!

Great post. Its true, when people hear about Steem they just faze out. Those that haven't heard of Cryptocurrency tend to shy away from it. I'm still trying to grasp the concepts but have embraced Steemit and the community!

Steemit is a great community. The concepts around crypto are confusing and always changing, I am trying to get a handle on them too! Thanks for your comment!

I tried talking to my sister in law about steemit, she listened, took notes and then nothing. People just don't get it , stepping out if their comfort zone terrifies them. She doesn't understand why I do not and will not do Fakebook! Sigh🐓

Thanks! I think that's true they are afraid to try something new! Good point! Keep talking to her, she may be rich from it one day!

I have mentioned steemit to a handfull of people and several of them expressed interest and 2 of my friends joined. However, most people are completely bewildered by the concept of it.

You are an expert salesperson my friend! You have a 50 percent batting average, keep promoting, they will thank you and tell their friends! Thanks for commenting

I don't make much of an effort to bring people to steemit unless I feel they'll add a lot to the community and have honest intentions. I found it's much easier to draw people in if they have patreon accounts because the community is really lacking over there

"Patreon is a way to get paid for creating the things you're already creating (webcomics, videos, songs, whatevs). Fans pay a few bucks per month OR per post you release." I learned something new from you - THANKS!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51