Hi Steemit, I'm Carson and I'm going to win Grammys

Hello Steemit! My name's Carson Hoy.

I'm a 20 year old Canadian songwriter, producer and DJ and my goal is to win Grammys. I share a basement suite with my quirky handicapped uncle and scrounge together cash for rent from my weekend DJ gigs.

I decided to stop fighting my sleep schedule from the late weekends, so I'm up 'til 6am every night composing music on my computer, recording my friends while not waking up the kids in the suite next to me. My studio room has shirts nailed to the walls for soundproofing and the music is getting better and better each night long session I put into it. It's unusual the way I'm living, very broke and unable to move out on my own, but I love music more than anything, and I must be willing to be that guy who doesn't have a "real job" to be the person I want to be.

My drive for music has ended relationships, gotten me dirty looks from girlfriends and their parents saying "So... What's your plan B?" The truth is, I've thrown away the idea of a plan B. This is it really. I've studied the people I really admire, and they only got where they wanted to go because of their willingness to do what it takes. A great quote I heard was "The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation" and that's not the life I want to lead.

In my search for mentors I stumbled across someone named Rick Rubin, and read his story. At my age he was in a dorm room in New York University meeting friends who were into hip hop and began composing rap beats for them. One kid sent a mixtape to him named "LL Cool J", another group named "The Beastie Boys" He started recording them and selling his records from within the university, he put a sign on his dorm door and called his company "Def Jam" I started to think about how Def Jam could stay afloat and it occurred to me... "Oh yeah, they could sell their music!" The music I make and put on soundcloud and youtube all gets downloaded for free if downloaded at all. Coming across Steemit I saw the possibility of having my music on this site where people could upvote it, then earning us money to continue. Since it's free to upvote, nobody has to feel like they're losing money and it can help a starving artist. I'm really excited to start posting my music and crazy ideas with my buddies here and hopefully create my own Def Jam style label on this platform!

It's not very often that an artist gets an opportunity like this, and so in my home town of Cloverdale BC I'll be cranking out tunes with my buddies from the basement suite studio and maybe... No... Definitely, you will see me on that Grammy stage thanking all my supporters from a lil site called Steemit.

Sort:  

Post a video and reference Steemit :)

It's a much better approach to getting people to trust that it's you (and get more upvotes)

Thanks for the tip! I can put that in a music video :)

Hi @carsonhoy - what a pleasure to see you pursuing your dream. I definitely admire the fact that you've thrown out Plan B. Do it while you're young, love. As a musician I can say that I've never regretted pursuing this art. Am I still doing it - well... kind of... in a part time capacity. Keep going. Keep creating. And from one newbie to another, WELCOME TO STEEMIT! :)

Thank you! Keep on doing what makes you feel good :)

I love your music on Soundcloud, especially 'Can't Believe It'

Delighted to have you here with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51