Wordpress and Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Ok so this is my point of view, and which plugins I prefer to use.

With the rise of social media platforms, it can be a right pain in the arse to get your content out to every single platform, without the hassle of copying and pasting everything. Usually it is a choice of which social media platform to focus on and then try to branch out from their, my philosophy is to have a centralised location i.e. my website, and then send all of the content out into the world, for me it just makes my life so much easier, as well as giving people the option of finding everything in one place, and then linking through to all my social media channels.

Currently I am on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, Google + and the newest social media platform around – Steemit, all of which have got plugins that I utilise, so keep reading to see what could work for you.

Ok so the first one on the list is Facebook, for the obvious reason that it has over a billion users, so I would be a fool not to use it, as is Twitter, because every man and his dog like to tweet, and should the want arise to run a competition, there is nothing easier than a hashtag. Google+ is a must also, I don’t care what Google says, they will always put content from their platforms first in search results if they can, it just stands to reason doesn’t it, and with them being the number 1 search engine in the world, I might as well play ball and keep them happy. Tumblr is just another blogging platform, but it ranks high in Google rankings, so again well worth being on board.

For Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and Google+ I use a plugin called Jetpack. Now Jetpack have a wealth of other features, some of which I use on a daily basis, but the syncing with social media platforms is an absolute doddle, just type in your username and password and your away, that’s it, it really is that simple, all in all less than 5 minutes per platform, so anything this simple is an absolute must in my book.

Currently for Pinterest I am adding manually, but this is no hardship to be fair as I do more searching on Pinterest than I do adding to it, there are methods and plugins you can use, but until I get to the point where I will need this feature I am not willing to pay out for it, I am yet to find a plugin for free that will do this for me.

Now posting to Instagram is achievable fairly simply as there are numerous plugins available, but if you want to stay on the free route (and lets face it, why pay for something if you don’t have to) there is one great plugin called Auto-Post To Instagram. Now the setup is really simple just add your username and password and your away, but if like me you want the tags in your posts to become hashtags, then there is a little bit of work involved.

Ok so go into the editor and select the above plugin. Now find the first line of code shown below (it is quite near the bottom) and replace it with the code written beneath “change”, then click update and that’s it, your wordpress site will now autopost your tags as hashtags and you don’t have to do any work!! Yep I know that I am a lazy git, but that’s why technology was invented, so we don’t have to do all the work.

/wp-content/plugins/auto-post-to-instagram/wp2instagram.php

$caption = get_the_title($ID); // caption

Change

$tags   = get_the_tags($ID);
 $tagged = '';
 if ( $tags ) {
 foreach ( $tags as $tag ) { $tagged[] = rawurlencode($tag->name); }
 $tagged = implode('#',$tagged);
 }
 $caption = get_the_title($ID)."\n".home_url('?p='.$ID)."\n#".$tagged;     // caption
```And now for Steemit, well what can I say, there is an amazing guy [@recrypto](https://steemit.com/@recrypto) who has developed this plugin WordPress Steem, that allows you to auto post from wordpress to Steemit, now as I am still getting to grips with Steemit, all I can say is a massive thank you to this guy, he has helped to make my life so much easier. If you are not already on Steemit then you are missing out in a big way.

[![](https://i2.wp.com/andysmancave.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/steemit.jpg?resize=300%2C173)](https://i2.wp.com/andysmancave.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/steemit.jpg)So these are just a few plugins that I use on my site, hope this helps to fellow users, and if you have any questions feel free to get in touch.
Sort:  

Hi @andysmancave,
I'm kelly and here i am giving you easy way to claim free 50 WCX Coins.
WCEX is a brand new digital currency exchange and they are going to launch soon. As part of launch they are offering free 50 WCX coins which is of worth 5$. Use below link to create your account and claim free coins(you need to click on confirmation email).
https://wcex.co/?ref=ScopGJmB

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47