You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Achievement Unlocked: 1,500 Followers!

in #steemit7 years ago

I remember when neither of us had more than a few hundred followers. And now look at you. Keep on rocking and rolling, man. You're doing a fantastic job and I'm proud to be one of your followers :D

Sort:  

(´・ω・`) Likewise duder

Now if I can just get my witness node to break even. XD

tbh I don't even know what that is.

Witnesses are the people that solve transaction blocks on the blockchain. They also confirm each new version of Steem when a new hardfork comes out. Basically witnesses do what miners do for Bitcoin, except witness don't get paid for how many transactions they solve. They earn Steem for each block they solve, and the number of blocks they receive to solve is based on their ranking. The more votes a witness has, the more blocks they receive.

Unfortunately, to run a node you need a reliable internet connection and a system with enough RAM to do the calculations within the span of time you're given to solve and enough storage to store the entire blockchain. You can rent a server, which is what I'm doing, but it's not free lol. Right now I'm outside of the top 100, so I've yet to get a block to solve in nearly three weeks. Not exactly a feasible proposition, but I'm going to keep funding it from my posting rewards here and hope I can get a few more votes to bump myself up. If you haven't voted for witnesses before, you can vote at https://steemit.com/~witnesses .

Voted for you, hope it helps you out.

Tremendously, thank you!

I am Cornholio! (Whoa! Hm heh... that was cool) I need T.P. for my bunghole! Come out with your pants down!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66