115 Votes Given In A Single Day! - I Overstep Myself!

in #steemit7 years ago

It was late evening yesterday, almost midnight when I noticed that number telling me how many votes I gave for that day. I couldn't believe my own eyes. 115 Votes! I think I've never before given so many votes in a single day as I did yesterday.

115 Given VotesImage source: Own work with a Screenshot.

How and why those 115 votes?

The thing is that several days ago I posted an article that received a significant amount of comments. As I sincerely appreciate when I see people mind to leave some meaningful comment not only that I don't like leaving them without the reply, but as well I like to reward them.

That's why I always try to upvote those comments, no matter if they are left by my regular followers or just occasional visitors to the posts that I create.

Of course, I have some filters. Meaning, I don't vote for every single comment left or better to say, I don't vote for fishing comments such as it would be: "Nice post!" "Follow me!" "Great info!" "Nice sharing!" "Interesting topic!" "Fun topic!" and similar.

I also don't vote for comments in which the member would leave a link to their posts or blog (by his/her Steemit username signature). Come on, give me a break! If you commented, we all see your profile picture and your username, there is no need to type it in the comment as well.

Spam signImage source: Pixabay. Credits to AndyPandy for spam-stop-sign, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

I also ignore comments that don't have anything in common with the article I wrote, or it could be clearly seen that the member didn't read it at all but just picked something from the title or first few sentences to post some entirely meaningless comment. In fact, I'm more willing to downvote than upvote all those fishing and meaningless spammy comments.

But yesterday, despite all those filters there were still a decent amount of more or less relevant comments which I wanted to reward with my upvote. I made some quick rough calculation of the approximate percentage range in which I should scale my votes not to entirely drain my voting power but still make those upvotes of some value.

I was going through the comments, replying to most of them and upvoting them but I didn't count them. That's why I was so surprised when I saw the total number of votes I managed to cast in a single day.

OK, they were not all comment upvotes. I for sure voted for about 30 posts as well, but around 80 of them were just for those who left a comment. But, you know what?!?

I'm not the only one who rewards the readers that way either not the only one who have the same or similar filters to ignore (or even downvote) the fishy and spammy ones.

Think about it next time when you write your comment! 😉
Comments might be equally rewarding as posts if you mind writing meaningful content related and relevant ones.


Posted on Tuesday, January 16, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

Thank you for using the family tag! This post was chosen to be featured in the latest issue of 'Notes'. Keep Steeming on!

#thealliance pagebreak.png

WOW - thank you very much!

Im a new syndicate and Im trying to get to know each of the core members. I guess you are one of them.

@ana-maria, I totally agree with upvoting people which gives great comments. Together with @carrieallen, you share the same vision. I too am quite dedicated to giving thoughtful comments on peoples post as I know it would really help boost their morale

I would love that for myself which is why I need to impart it to others. Its a win win situation. Also, I find Steemit now as really a social media site not only a way to profit. Reading other peoples thoughts are entertaining. Will definitely be sticking around to leave you credit when it is due. Hope you dont mind me following you.

Agree with you that Steemit is not only a platform to make some profit but as well a social network. In that sense, comments are very important, as almost the only way to interact with others around here.
And of course, I wouldn't mind if you follow me. Quite in contrary, I appreciate every single follower I have!

Well you have nice filters... and you are right many users on steemit just drop comment without even reading the posts... And I agree to what @regalsoldier said... Its quite funny that people manage to leave a comment within a few seconds on a post which needs 10 minutes of reading time... :D

LOL - of course, they don't. They are just some quick buck hunters, and some are even bots.

in the start i was doing it too.
i started commenting fast with even reading the post and now i have realized i was doing wrong, this act of mine is ruining the beauty of this platform, so i have decided to do less comment but after reading and understanding the post completely , if i don't get what is this post all about ? i leave that post simply.
Thanks for your nice article @ana-maria

Well, I don't think the comments are mandatory. Sometimes we can come across a very good article but still don't have anything to say. So, I think it's OK as well if we don't comment or just upvote. On the other hand, there are some posts that would in some sort of way provoke you to comment and say something. And that's fine too. But leaving a comment that is just fishing a follow back or visit the commentator's blog or post, it's another pair of shoes. Same as leaving comments that don't have anything to do with what we were posting about and are otherwise totally senseless. That's at least how I feel about it.

yeah i'm totally agree with you dear

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.56$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I totally feel you @ana-maria . I'm rather new here and have wondered how the voting works and how to distribute my votes. I love reading, learning and commenting but my votes aren't worth very much yet. Hopefully that will grow and my rewards for people will be better. I do feel like it is important to read every comment and vote on everything I can but I'm learning about what happens when my vote power goes to low. I guess it's a learning process but so far I'm wishing I had more votes to give because this is such a fun community.

I know it's a bit hard at the beginning until you reach the amount of 500 SP (your own Steem Power) as before that point you don't have available the voting scale. Therefore it's important to know and understand that, in fact, you have available 10 votes per day (if you don't want to lower your Voting Power below 80%).

Why keeping your Voting Power at the range of 80% is important? *(In case you don't know, yet.)
Simply because 20% of our Voting power can be regenerated inside 24 hours. And without voting scale available you are always giving your 100% vote. As each given vote decreases your Voting Power for 2% - that's why you have only 10 votes per day available.
If you spread them carefully you may e.g. 8 votes give to the posts you like, while 2 of them keep for the best comments left under your articles.

There is a nice tool where you can check your voting power (among many other things). It's called SteemWorld.

Usually, I'm not advising members who didn't reach 500 SP yet how to work around and get the voting scale earlier as it might bring them more harm than good, especially if they are not going to use it wisely. But, as you are already halfway to the point of your own 500 SP and, as it seems to me, willing to learn Steemit the right way, I believe the info that you may find under one of my old posts might be useful to you. 😉😊

Keeps people coming back knowing their efforts are appreciated when they take time to read your blog and make a worthwhile comment.

Good, I'm glad you don't vote for those people that are fishing just for comments. They think they are so smart trying to leave those generic comments.
That's a lot of upvotes. Did you know there is a contest that is encouraging people to curate? I want to leave the link here for you, but you seem to be against links in a comment. The link is not to my site, so I'm going to take a chance and leave it here for you. https://gosteem.com/contest/@carrieallen/comment-challenge-win-sbd

Well, I'm not generally against the links in the comments, especially not if they are contextual (like yours here). I leave such links in my comments to others as well.
I'm just against those links that are fishing ones and that usually follows that famous "Nice post!" kind of comments leading to own posts that don't have anything to do with the topic of my post. 😉😊

Okay. Good to hear. If you keep up that 115 votes every day, you would really be popular in that contest I posted there. I don't remember the rules, but I think all you have to do is make good comments and be sure that the judge knows you're in the contest.

Yeah, I know about those contests (as the one you mentioned is not the only one) encouraging people to post more meaningful comments which I find a very good initiative.
On the other hand, in this post, I was trying to prove how such comments (even when they are not the part of some contest) might be rewarding.
In other words, I'm not the one who is trying to earn some extra buck in such contests with my own comments, but more the one who is trying to reward my readers for their interaction and comments left under my posts. Equally, I'm not on some big hunt for new followers as I think my followers base already reached a very respectable number, although it could always be better and despite the fact that each new follower still makes me very happy.
Therefore, I would rather leave more room (in such contests) for other members who might need the boost those contests might give them much more than I do.

Sure they do some people don't even read the artical they just spam the post. Yesterday @jerrybenfiled uploaded a video Its nearly 2 hr video he was just posted 3 min ago. how could these guys replaying to him this is video awesome and grate and on and on with in 3 min ? it was 2hr video..lol

LOL - I have seen some members who managed to answer my over 1,500 words long post just 30 seconds after publishing.
I said, they must be some ultra speed readers! 😁

Maybe they are like Superman they just scan through laser eyes 😁 thank you for 115 votes given to the people who in need ..

Congratulations @ana-maria! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This was really interesting and great post and Crazy many votes 😉I know that feeling I love voting on great posts and I vote way to much.
I have voted 93 times today and honestly yesterday I voted much more 😜 lol
Didn't know though about were you could check this out untill today 😉 thank you for that.
Have a wonderful evening and thank you for sharing. Cheers!

Thank you very much for stopping by and for such a nice comment! 🙂

My pleasure my friend and thank you for sharing this 😉 I hope you are having a wonderful Saturday. Cheers! 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53